Parliament Website

Hibernian Football Club And The Scottish Cup

EDM number 57 in 2016-17, proposed by Ian Blackford on 23/05/2016.
Categorised under the topic of Sports.

That this House congratulates Hibernian Football Club on winning the Scottish Cup, the oldest cup competition in world football; notes that Hibernian has at long last achieved Scottish Cup success having not won the cup since 1902; further notes that the club has competed in and lost 10 Scottish Cup finals since then, leaving many fans wondering if Hibernian could win the cup again; notes that Hibernian's victory is the first occasion since 1938 that a team from outwith the top division has won the cup; congratulates the management and players for this magnificent achievement in returning the cup to Leith; notes that the Leith motto is Persevere; and considers that it is certainly the case that Hibernian has persevered and delivered cup success.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Ian Blackford23/05/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartyProposed
Drew Hendry23/05/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySeconded
Brendan O'Hara23/05/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySeconded
John McNally23/05/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Gavin Newlands23/05/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Paul Monaghan23/05/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySeconded
Angus MacNeil23/05/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Roger Mullin23/05/2016Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson24/05/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon24/05/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Natalie McGarry24/05/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown24/05/2016Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell24/05/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry25/05/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows25/05/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day25/05/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray25/05/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss26/05/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law26/05/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman26/05/2016Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh06/06/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell06/06/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald08/06/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins09/06/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson13/06/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley14/06/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson20/06/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.