Parliament Website

Planned Closure Of Job Centres In Glasgow

EDM number 814 in 2016-17, proposed by Stewart McDonald on 15/12/2016.
Categorised under the topic of Working age benefits.

That this House is concerned at the planned office closures of jobcentres in Glasgow; is further concerned that the proposals would see eight of the 16 jobcentre offices across Glasgow close, affecting some 68,000 people in receipt of jobseeker's allowance, employment and support allowance and universal credit; believes that this decision will result in the poorest communities not being serviced by a jobcentre and make it even harder for those seeking employment to get support and result in tens of thousands of people having to travel further at additional cost to attend their appointments; notes that those closures raise questions on the futures of Department for Work and Pensions staff in Scotland and also how remaining jobcentres will cope with increased numbers of claimants; and calls on the Government to reconsider its plans and ensure that all jobcentres in Glasgow are covered by a public consultation.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Stewart McDonald15/12/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartyProposed
Alison Thewliss15/12/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens15/12/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Patrick Grady15/12/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Carol Monaghan15/12/2016Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySeconded
Anne McLaughlin15/12/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySeconded
Kirsten Oswald15/12/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day15/12/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford15/12/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara15/12/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry15/12/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart15/12/2016Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry16/12/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law16/12/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
John McNally19/12/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon19/12/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Margaret Ferrier09/01/2017Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson09/01/2017MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan10/01/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond16/01/2017Signed
Drew Hendry16/01/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown16/01/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil16/01/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows16/01/2017Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson25/01/2017East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands02/02/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.