Parliament Website

Lettori In Italian Universities

EDM number 886 in 2016-17, proposed by Deidre Brock on 26/01/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Employment and Higher education.

That this House notes the ongoing concerns about disparity in employment rights of UK citizens and other non-Italian nationals who work as lettori in Italian universities; recognises that six rulings in the Court of Justice of the European Union found Italy to be discriminating against non-Italian lecturers with regards to length of contracts, access to jobs and fair and equal treatment on salary increments, pension and social security rights; further notes that 29 January 2017 marks six years since Italy's Gelmini law came into force which closed down the right of non-Italian workers to have their claims for compensation assessed in a domestic court; notes that most lettori have been involved in litigation for over 20 years; and urges the Government, during ongoing Brexit negotiations, to ensure steps are taken to protect the rights and fair treatment of UK citizens working in Italy.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Deidre Brock26/01/2017Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartyProposed
Marion Fellows26/01/2017Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySeconded
Callum McCaig26/01/2017Aberdeen SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Gavin Newlands26/01/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Anne McLaughlin26/01/2017Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySeconded
Roger Mullin26/01/2017Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySeconded
Calum Kerr26/01/2017Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell26/01/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald26/01/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald30/01/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens31/01/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan31/01/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan01/02/2017Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson01/02/2017West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
John McNally01/02/2017FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Alasdair McDonnell01/02/2017Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Margaret Ferrier03/02/2017Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil03/02/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond03/02/2017Signed
Chris Law03/02/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown06/02/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry06/02/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson07/02/2017MidlothianScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.