Parliament Website

Helensburgh Heroes Centre

EDM number 1015 in 2017-19, proposed by Brendan O'Hara on 05/03/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Cultural heritage and Tourism.

That this House congratulates everyone involved in the recent opening of the Helensburgh Heroes Centre, a centre that recognises and celebrates the enormous contribution made by the people of Helensburgh and the surrounding district in areas as diverse as television, sport, music, science, art, politics, literature, architecture and film-making, including the inventor and television pioneer John Logie Baird, the Hollywood superstar Deborah Kerr and Eunice Murray, the renowned suffragette who in 1918 was the first Scottish woman to seek election to the UK Parliament; believes the Helensburgh Heroes Centre with its visitor centre, exhibition, shop and 1950s-style America café will be a very welcome addition to the already numerous tourist attractions the town has to offer; acknowledges that without the enormous effort and dedication of a small group of local people, most notably Phil Worms, Linda Worms, Stuart Duncan, Professor Michael Baker and Fiona Baker, this ambitious, culturally-important project would not have been possible; and wishes the Helensburgh Heroes Centre every success in the future.

This motion has been signed by a total of 15 MPs.

Brendan O'Hara05/03/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartyProposed
Stewart McDonald06/03/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Shannon06/03/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Martyn Day06/03/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
David Linden07/03/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens07/03/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
Carol Monaghan08/03/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady08/03/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands08/03/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law12/03/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart13/03/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown15/03/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty16/03/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins20/03/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry18/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.