Parliament Website

Language Diversity In The UK

EDM number 1050 in 2017-19, proposed by Liz Saville Roberts on 12/03/2018.
Categorised under the topic of Cultural heritage.

That this House deeply regrets the comments made by Dame Louise Casey calling on the Government to set a target date for everyone in the UK to speak English; notes that English is not the only official language of the UK; recognises the place of Welsh, Gaelic, Scots, Irish Scots, Ulster Scots and Cornish as official native languages of the UK according to the British Council; dismisses the view of Dame Casey that everyone in the UK should speak one language; believes that everyone should feel respected within their communities, and not condemned for their diversity, particularly in terms of language; and urges the Government to dismiss these comments and commit to strengthening the status given to official languages.

This motion has been signed by a total of 14 MPs.

Liz Saville Roberts12/03/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruProposed
Hywel Williams12/03/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Jonathan Edwards12/03/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Ben Lake12/03/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSeconded
Martyn Day13/03/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Alison Thewliss13/03/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
Pete Wishart13/03/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown15/03/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan16/03/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty16/03/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry19/03/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
David Linden19/03/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
John McNally20/03/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry18/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.