Parliament Website

Stuart Cosgrove

EDM number 1157 in 2017-19, proposed by Pete Wishart on 16/04/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Media and Performing arts.

That this House congratulates the celebrated Perthshire journalist, Stuart Cosgrove, on winning the 2018 Penderyn Music Book Prize, which, it understands, is the only UK-based book prize specifically for music titles, for Memphis 68: The Tragedy of Southern Soul; notes that this is the second part of his epic trilogy about soul music and social change in three cities across the US in the 1960s; acknowledges that Detroit 67: The Year that Changed Soul was nominated for the 2015 prize, and that the final instalment, Harlem 69: The Future of Soul, is due to be published in October 2018; commends Stuart on his knowledge of Memphis, even though, for him, the city is more than 2,000 miles from home; wishes him and the award organisers all the best; and hopes that Stuart does not find his new fame too hard to handle.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Pete Wishart16/04/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartyProposed
Chris Law18/04/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Deidre Brock18/04/2018Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySeconded
Ian Blackford18/04/2018Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySeconded
Martin Docherty18/04/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySeconded
Peter Grant18/04/2018GlenrothesScottish National PartySeconded
Hannah Bardell18/04/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan18/04/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss18/04/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
David Linden18/04/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black19/04/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands19/04/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry19/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford19/04/2018Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady23/04/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman23/04/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan23/04/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens23/04/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day24/04/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman25/04/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil27/04/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown09/05/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows10/05/2018Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.