Parliament Website

John (Iain) Macleod

EDM number 1171 in 2017-19, proposed by Carol Monaghan on 18/04/2018.
Categorised under the topic of Cultural heritage.

That this House is saddened by the death of John MacLeod, a champion of Gaelic language and culture; recognises his tireless commitment to further the development of the Gaelic language throughout Scotland, including his active petitioning which achieved the establishment of the Gaelic Language (Scotland) Act of 2005 and establishment of Bord na Gaidhlig; recalls his presidency of An Comunn Gaidhealach, along with his work as chairman of the National Gaelic Parents Association, and as a board member of Comunn na Gaidhlig; acknowledges his awarding of the Police Long Service and Good Conduct Medal in 1995; celebrates his awarding of the honour of Sar Ghaidheal in 2017; and offers its condolences to his family, and all who knew him, Gus am bris an latha.

This motion has been signed by a total of 19 MPs.

Carol Monaghan18/04/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartyProposed
Deidre Brock18/04/2018Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySeconded
Angus MacNeil18/04/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySeconded
Drew Hendry18/04/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySeconded
Alison Thewliss18/04/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
Alan Brown18/04/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law18/04/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray18/04/2018Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald18/04/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
David Linden18/04/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady18/04/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
John McNally18/04/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron18/04/2018East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands18/04/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens23/04/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts23/04/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Martyn Day24/04/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell10/05/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows10/05/2018Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.