Parliament Website

University Of St Andrews Men's Football Team Winning The Queen's Park Shield

EDM number 1352 in 2017-19, proposed by Stephen Gethins on 06/06/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Higher education and Sports.

That this House congratulates the University of St Andrews men's first team on winning the Queen's Park Shield; notes the shield, which bears the crests of the four universities surrounding a rare image of Hampden Park before redevelopment, was donated to the Scottish Amateur Football Association by Queen's Park Football Club and has been contested by teams representing the four Ancient Universities of Scotland since 1921; further notes that this is the first time in 75 years, following victories in 1925 and 1943, that St Andrews has won the solid silver shield; further congratulates the University's Director of Football Stuart Milne and his Saints Sport colleagues on the delivery of the performance sport programme which has, across all nine football teams, resulted in eight promotions and three cups in the last eight years; understands the final game was challenging, finishing 0-0 whereby St Andrews achieved a winning 6-5 result following a penalty shoot-out in which goalkeeper Alec Cadzow saved two penalties, players Alex Dodshon, Max Balmford, Michael Cameron, Luke Bain, Daniel Pilley and Finlay Tough scored, and Isaac Bonisteel had his kick saved; and notes that victory was a fitting finale for 10 out of the 16 players involved who are due to graduate from the University in Summer 2018.

This motion has been signed by a total of 12 MPs.

Stephen Gethins06/06/2018North East FifeScottish National PartyProposed
Jim Shannon07/06/2018StrangfordDUPSeconded
Jonathan Edwards07/06/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Chris Stephens07/06/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
David Linden07/06/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Martyn Day07/06/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald11/06/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law11/06/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown12/06/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry12/06/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell13/06/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman14/06/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.