Parliament Website

Importance Of The European Union Customs Union

EDM number 1372 in 2017-19, proposed by Hywel Williams on 11/06/2018.
Categorised under the topics of EU institutions, EU law and treaties, International trade and International economic relations.

That this House notes the amendment to Lords Amendments No 2. to the European Union (Withdrawal) Bill in the names of Plaid Cymru hon. Members that seeks to ensure that the Government negotiates, as part of the framework for the UK's future relationship with the EU an arrangement which enables the UK to continue participating in the EU Union; believes retaining membership of the EU Customs Union is the best way to mitigate the economic risks of Brexit, rather than negotiating a new customs union with the EU; recognises the benefits of UK membership of the EU Customs Union which removes costly and time-consuming customs processes and red tape for trade with other EU member states, allows the operation of a soft Northern Ireland-Republic of Ireland border that would be in jeopardy were the UK to leave, and allows the UK to fully benefit from 56 existing trade agreements; further notes the support for continued membership of the EU Customs Union across the House; regrets the Government's alternatives for the EU Customs Union, a new customs partnership, maximum facilitation, and a 10 mile buffer zone, none of which deliver the same benefits as the EU Customs Union and protect the soft border between Northern Ireland and the Republic as it stands; does not believe that the Government will be able to successfully negotiate free trade deals with other countries that will adequately replace the loss in trading relationships as a result of leaving the EU Customs Union; and calls on the Government to support this amendment to ensure it negotiates for the UK to remain a member of the EU Customs Union following the UK's withdrawal from the EU.

This motion has been signed by a total of 10 MPs.

Hywel Williams11/06/2018ArfonPlaid CymruProposed
Liz Saville Roberts11/06/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Jonathan Edwards11/06/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Ben Lake11/06/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSeconded
Martyn Day12/06/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySeconded
Alan Brown12/06/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySeconded
Drew Hendry12/06/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell13/06/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens13/06/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman14/06/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.