Parliament Website

Financial Liability For Nuclear Power Station Safety

EDM number 1501 in 2017-19, proposed by Drew Hendry on 10/07/2018.
Categorised under the topics of Companies and Nuclear power.

That this House is concerned to hear reports that the directors of Hitachi, who will be developing the proposed Wylfa nuclear power station, have sought safeguards to reduce or eliminate the firm's financial responsibility for accidents at the site; notes this follows two serious safety breaches in Hitachi's nuclear developments, one of which resulted in a $2.7 million fine from the US Government; believes that, given that liability for nuclear developers is already capped at 1.3 billion Euros in the event of a nuclear incident as agreed in the Brussels and Paris conventions, it is only right that private providers of nuclear power bear their fair share of the financial impact of safety breaches; is disappointed that the socialising of these risks comes on the back of reports that the Government will underwrite Wylfa through a 2 trillion yen loan to Hitachi while saddling consumers with high energy prices as a result of a proposed £77.50/MWH strike price, despite alternative sources being cheaper, including offshore wind which can deliver power at £57.50/MW; is further concerned that Hitachi's private profits would be so protected without the firm accepting corresponding costs; and calls on the Government to provide urgent reassurances that it will not press ahead with the Wylfa power station development until protection for consumers and taxpayers is secured.

This motion has been signed by a total of 15 MPs.

Drew Hendry10/07/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartyProposed
Kirsty Blackman10/07/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Alan Brown10/07/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart Hosie10/07/2018Dundee EastScottish National PartySeconded
David Linden10/07/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald10/07/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Patrick Grady10/07/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law10/07/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford10/07/2018Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara10/07/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry10/07/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens10/07/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil06/09/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman10/09/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins23/10/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.