Parliament Website

Parliamentarians Reporting Constituents To The Home Office For Deportation

EDM number 269 in 2017-19, proposed by Gavin Newlands on 05/09/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Data protection, Immigration and Members of Parliament.

That this House is concerned by recent Freedom of Information reports revealing that on 482 occasions between 2014 and 2016 hon. Members of the House have been informing the Home Office of undocumented migrants; believes that to inform on a constituent would be a fundamental betrayal of trust, acting against the interests of those it is an hon. Member's duty to represent, as well as a failure of confidentiality and a potential breach of the Data Protection Act 1998; is further concerned by the Home Office response that hon. Members would only be identified as an MP if they declared themselves on the form, which allows someone remain anonymous; further believes that the risk that this is but the tip of iceberg; and notes that this information comes amid a year and a decade when the Home Office has been increasingly hostile to those who have chosen to make the UK their home.

This motion has been signed by a total of 20 MPs.

Gavin Newlands05/09/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartyProposed
Tommy Sheppard05/09/2017Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySeconded
Carol Monaghan05/09/2017Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySeconded
Drew Hendry05/09/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySeconded
Philippa Whitford05/09/2017Central AyrshireScottish National PartySeconded
Hannah Bardell05/09/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law05/09/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan05/09/2017InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts05/09/2017Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Angela Crawley05/09/2017Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray05/09/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown05/09/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day05/09/2017Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald06/09/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
David Linden06/09/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens06/09/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas07/09/2017Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Alison Thewliss12/09/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty12/09/2017West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins13/09/2017North East FifeScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.