Parliament Website

500th Anniversary Of The Reformation

EDM number 357 in 2017-19, proposed by Stephen Gethins on 11/10/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Religion and faith communities.

That this House congratulates the University of St Andrews' Reformation Studies Institute on launching a series of special services, lectures, an exhibition and a concert to mark the 500th anniversary of the Reformation; notes 31 October 2017 marks five centuries since Martin Luther initiated the Reformation by posting his 95 theses attacking the practices and doctrines of the late medieval Catholic church; further notes St Andrews, the only place in the UK to be officially designated as a City of the Reformation by the Community of Protestant Churches in Europe, is considered the birthplace of the Scottish Reformation with four early Reformers having been put to death for their beliefs, including the first, 24 year old Patrick Hamilton in 1527, and last, 88-year-old Walter Milne in 1558, who are commemorated on the Martyrs' Monument on The Scores; understands too that St Andrews was home to Scottish Protestant preacher John Knox, whose sermon in Holy Trinity Parish Church on 4 June 1559 is said to have provoked his congregation to storm and strip the town's now ruined cathedral; encourages members of all faiths to listen to BBC Radio 4's Sunday Service at 8:10am on 22 October 2017 coming from the university chapel and attend the ecumenical service in the town's Holy Trinity Parish Church on 31 October 2017 at 5.30pm featuring a sermon by former Archbishop of Canterbury Rowan Williams; and pays tribute to Christian unity and the positive role that all churches and faiths have to play in our society.

This motion has been signed by a total of 10 MPs.

Stephen Gethins11/10/2017North East FifeScottish National PartyProposed
Jim Shannon12/10/2017StrangfordDUPSeconded
Gavin Robinson16/10/2017Belfast EastDUPSeconded
David Linden16/10/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law16/10/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Patrick Grady16/10/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Alan Brown25/10/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman06/11/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.