Parliament Website

20th Anniversary Of Flourish House

EDM number 363 in 2017-19, proposed by Patrick Grady on 11/10/2017.
Categorised under the topics of Charities and Mental health.

That this House congratulates Glasgow-based mental health charity Flourish House from the Woodlands area of Glasgow on its 20th anniversary, which it celebrated with a birthday party on 16 September 2017 as part of the Glasgow Doors Open Festival; notes Flourish House enables members with mental health conditions to regain confidence and skills whilst also developing social, financial and vocational capabilities through participation in a work-ordered day in which they can work to achieve goals related to education, training and employment; commends the charity on its focus on a positive social model of mental health which concentrates on members' strengths, talents and abilities and provides opportunities to share skills through teamwork, partnerships and peer support; further notes that Flourish House, which remains the only independent clubhouse in Scotland, with a membership of over 1400, started life as an office in Dixon Street in Glasgow's Merchant City under the auspices of the Glasgow Association for Mental Health (GAMH) before moving to its current building at 23-25 Ashley Street in 1998 after which, in 2001, Flourish House has become independent from GAMH, a limited company, and registered charity; is grateful to all the staff and volunteers who work hard to provide a restorative environment for people whose lives have been severely disrupted by mental illness; and wishes everyone at Flourish House every success over the coming years as it continues to support those with mental illness in the community.

This motion has been signed by a total of 8 MPs.

Patrick Grady11/10/2017Glasgow NorthScottish National PartyProposed
Alison Thewliss12/10/2017Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Stephens12/10/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySeconded
David Linden16/10/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law16/10/2017Dundee WestScottish National PartySeconded
Alan Brown25/10/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySeconded
Angus MacNeil20/11/2017Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.