Parliament Website

The National Manufacturing Institute For Scotland

EDM number 681 in 2017-19, proposed by Gavin Newlands on 12/12/2017.
Categorised under the topic of Manufacturing industries.

That this House welcomes the announcement from the Scottish Government that the £65 million National Manufacturing Institute for Scotland will be based in lnchinnan in Renfrewshire; notes that the partnership between the Scottish Government, Renfrewshire Council and the University of Strathclyde will be an industry-led international centre of manufacturing expertise where research, industry and the public sector will work together to transform skills, productivity and innovation; recognises that manufacturing is of significant importance to the Scottish economy, employing more than 180,000 people in Scotland, accounting for 52 per cent of the country's international exports and making up more than a tenth of Scotland's GDP; further notes that this Factory of the Future will house an array of state of the art machinery and other manufacturing equipment including digital and robotic technology; and wishes all the partners involved the best of success as they strive to deliver this ambitious project and grow Scotland's reputation as a global hub for high value manufacturing.

This motion has been signed by a total of 14 MPs.

Gavin Newlands12/12/2017Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartyProposed
Patricia Gibson12/12/2017North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySeconded
Alan Brown12/12/2017Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySeconded
David Linden12/12/2017Glasgow EastScottish National PartySeconded
Stewart McDonald12/12/2017Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySeconded
Stuart McDonald12/12/2017Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySeconded
Deidre Brock12/12/2017Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray12/12/2017Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon13/12/2017StrangfordDUPSigned
Brendan O'Hara13/12/2017Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens13/12/2017Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman18/12/2017Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell21/12/2017LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry21/12/2017Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.