Parliament Website

Welsh EU Continuity Bill

EDM number 837 in 2017-19, proposed by Liz Saville Roberts on 22/01/2018.
Categorised under the topic of National Assembly for Wales.

That this House welcomes the National Assembly for Wales's unanimous decision on 17 January 2018 to vote in favour of Steffan Lewis AM's Member's legislative proposal to bring forward a Welsh EU Continuity Bill to protect Welsh democracy; notes with alarm that clause 11 of the EU Withdrawal Bill puts new constraints on the Assembly' s ability to legislate; further notes that successive, cross-party attempts to amend clause 11 have been blocked by the Government and the deadline for improvements promised by Ministers in the House at Report Stage has now passed; acknowledges that a Continuity Bill was never the preferred option but now it is essential; points to the fact that it is not only Plaid Cymru supporting a Continuity Bill to protect Welsh democracy but, as of 17 January 2018, also the Labour/Liberal Democrat Welsh Government, the Welsh Conservative Party and even UKIP; and, now that the Continuity Bill has won unanimous support in Wales, calls on the Government to respect Wales’s sovereignty and not to challenge the principles of that decision in any way.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs.

Liz Saville Roberts22/01/2018Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruProposed
Jonathan Edwards22/01/2018Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Hywel Williams22/01/2018ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
Ben Lake22/01/2018CeredigionPlaid CymruSeconded
Ian Blackford22/01/2018Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySeconded
Caroline Lucas22/01/2018Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Neil Gray22/01/2018Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
David Linden22/01/2018Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry22/01/2018Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Stewart Hosie22/01/2018Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law22/01/2018Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald22/01/2018Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
John McNally22/01/2018FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil22/01/2018Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan22/01/2018Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands22/01/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Brendan O'Hara22/01/2018Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Tommy Sheppard22/01/2018Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens22/01/2018Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron22/01/2018East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Douglas Chapman22/01/2018Dunfermline and West FifeScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald22/01/2018Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black22/01/2018Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown22/01/2018Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Gethins22/01/2018North East FifeScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry22/01/2018Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant22/01/2018GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell22/01/2018LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart22/01/2018Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford22/01/2018Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady22/01/2018Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss22/01/2018Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Patricia Gibson22/01/2018North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman22/01/2018Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley22/01/2018Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock22/01/2018Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan22/01/2018InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day22/01/2018Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty22/01/2018West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows22/01/2018Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned

RSS Feed Email Subscribe to updates for this motion.
Download raw data as csv or xml.