Parliament Website

Parliament And The European Community

EDM number 1320 in 1989-90, proposed by John Biffen on 20/07/1990.

That this House, deeply conscious of the democratic rights of the British people and confident of their continued capacity for successful democratic self-government, declines to support any revision of the Rome Treaty that would require a further transfer of power from Parliament to the institutions of the European Community; and specifically rejects those proposals in the Delors Report which call for a European Central Bank, permanently locked exchange rates and a single European currency.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

John Biffen20/07/1990North ShropshireProposed
Max Madden20/07/1990Bradford WestSigned
Nicholas Winterton20/07/1990MacclesfieldSigned
Ann Winterton20/07/1990CongletonSigned
Teddy Taylor20/07/1990Southend EastSigned
Richard Body20/07/1990Holland with BostonSigned
Tony Benn20/07/1990ChesterfieldSigned
Joe Ashton20/07/1990BassetlawSigned
Jonathan Aitken20/07/1990South ThanetSigned
Michael Foot20/07/1990Blaenau GwentSigned
Harry Ewing20/07/1990Falkirk EastSigned
Gwyneth Dunwoody20/07/1990Crewe & NantwichSigned
Terry Davis20/07/1990Birmingham, Hodge HillSigned
Bob Cryer20/07/1990Bradford SouthSigned
Bill Cash20/07/1990StaffordSigned
Rhodes Boyson20/07/1990Brent NorthSigned
Roger Moate20/07/1990FavershamSigned
Austin Mitchell20/07/1990Great GrimsbySigned
Patrick McNair-Wilson20/07/1990New ForestSigned
David Marshall20/07/1990Glasgow, ShettlestonSigned
Tony Marlow20/07/1990Northampton NorthSigned
Ron Leighton20/07/1990Newham North EastSigned
Roy Hughes20/07/1990Newport EastSigned
Doug Hoyle20/07/1990Warrington NorthSigned
Nigel Spearing20/07/1990Newham SouthSigned
Peter Shore20/07/1990Bethnal Green and StepneySigned
Richard Shepherd20/07/1990Aldridge-BrownhillsSigned
Nicholas Budgen20/07/1990Wolverhampton South WestSigned
Peter Hardy23/07/1990WentworthSigned
Teresa Gorman23/07/1990BillericaySigned
Denzil Davies23/07/1990LlanelliSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe23/07/1990LeighSigned
David Lambie23/07/1990Cunninghame SouthSigned
Graham Riddick24/07/1990Colne ValleySigned
Eddie Loyden24/07/1990Liverpool, GarstonSigned
Audrey Wise24/07/1990PrestonSigned
Alexander Eadie25/07/1990MidlothianSigned
Gary Waller25/07/1990KeighleySigned
Tommy Graham06/09/1990Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Norman BuchanUnknownWithdrawn
Neil HamiltonUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.