Parliament Website

Antarctic Wilderness Park

EDM number 1461 in 1989-90, proposed by Jeremy Corbyn on 25/10/1990.

That this House calls upon Her Majesty's Government to support the proposal to make the Antarctic an international wilderness park; believes that any exploitation of minerals will lead to irreversible ecological damage, both to the land mass and the surrounding seas and ice floes; and calls upon the Government to ensure that Britain withdraws the minerals exploration proposals contained in the Antarctic Minerals Act and supports the wilderness park at the forthcoming Santiago Convention.

This motion has been ammended, see 572A1.

This motion has been signed by a total of 52 MPs.

Jeremy Corbyn25/10/1990Islington NorthProposed
Dawn Primarolo25/10/1990Bristol SouthSigned
James Wray25/10/1990Glasgow ProvanSigned
Audrey Wise25/10/1990PrestonSigned
David Winnick25/10/1990Walsall NorthSigned
Joan Walley25/10/1990Stoke-on-Trent NorthSigned
Tony Benn25/10/1990ChesterfieldSigned
Harry Barnes25/10/1990North East DerbyshireSigned
Tony Banks25/10/1990Newham North WestSigned
Graham Allen25/10/1990Nottingham NorthSigned
Diane Abbott25/10/1990Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonSigned
Mildred Gordon25/10/1990Bow and PoplarSigned
George Galloway25/10/1990Glasgow HillheadSigned
Bob Cryer25/10/1990Bradford SouthSigned
Keith Bradley25/10/1990Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Elliot Morley25/10/1990Glanford and ScunthorpeSigned
Chris Mullin25/10/1990Sunderland SouthSigned
Ernie Ross25/10/1990Dundee WestSigned
Dennis Skinner25/10/1990BolsoverSigned
Peter Hardy25/10/1990WentworthSigned
Kate Hoey25/10/1990VauxhallSigned
James Kilfedder25/10/1990North DownSigned
Ken Livingstone25/10/1990Brent EastSigned
Alice Mahon25/10/1990HalifaxSigned
John McAllion25/10/1990Dundee EastSigned
William McKelvey25/10/1990Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
Alan Meale25/10/1990MansfieldSigned
Rhodri Morgan25/10/1990Cardiff WestSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe26/10/1990LeighSigned
John Evans26/10/1990St Helens NorthSigned
Andrew Welsh26/10/1990Angus EastSigned
Alan Wynne Williams29/10/1990CarmarthenSigned
Jim Wallace29/10/1990Orkney & ShetlandSigned
John Home Robertson29/10/1990East LothianSigned
John Battle29/10/1990Leeds WestSigned
Bruce Grocott29/10/1990Wrekin, TheSigned
Norman Godman29/10/1990Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Margaret Ewing29/10/1990MoraySigned
Bill Michie29/10/1990Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Alun Michael29/10/1990Cardiff South & PenarthSigned
Eric Illsley29/10/1990Barnsley CentralSigned
Chris Smith29/10/1990Islington South & FinsburySigned
Martin Redmond29/10/1990Don ValleySigned
Tom Cox30/10/1990TootingSigned
John Cummings30/10/1990EasingtonSigned
Terry Davis30/10/1990Birmingham, Hodge HillSigned
Ronnie Fearn30/10/1990SouthportSigned
Maria Fyfe30/10/1990Glasgow, MaryhillSigned
Gerry Steinberg30/10/1990Durham, City ofSigned
Russell Johnston31/10/1990Inverness, Nairn and LochaberSigned
Eddie McGrady31/10/1990South DownSigned
Andrew Faulds31/10/1990Warley EastSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.