Parliament Website

The Angolan Peace Process

EDM number 432 in 1989-90, proposed by Teresa Gorman on 01/02/1990.

That this House commends UNITA on its continuing effort to negotiate a ceasefire with the MPLA-PT in Angola; questions the MPLA-PT motives for circumventing the efforts of mediator President Mobutu Sese Seko of Zaire by holding summit meetings rather than entering into negotiations through the mediator; supports UNITA'S aim of peace, national reconciliation and plural democracy; and calls upon Her Majesty's Government to encourage the MPLA-PT to accept UNITA'S open offer for face to face negotiations leading to ceasefire, national reconciliation and free and fair elections.

This motion has been signed by a total of 22 MPs.

Teresa Gorman01/02/1990BillericayProposed
Andrew Hunter06/02/1990BasingstokeSigned
David Atkinson06/02/1990Bournemouth EastSigned
Nicholas Winterton06/02/1990MacclesfieldSigned
John Taylor07/02/1990StrangfordSigned
Ann Winterton07/02/1990CongletonSigned
Graham Riddick08/02/1990Colne ValleySigned
Martin Smyth12/02/1990Belfast SouthSigned
Robert Hughes15/02/1990Harrow WestSigned
Julian Brazier26/02/1990CanterburySigned
Timothy Devlin26/02/1990Stockton SouthSigned
Michael Colvin27/02/1990Romsey and WatersideSigned
Gary Waller27/02/1990KeighleySigned
John Townend27/02/1990BridlingtonSigned
George Gardiner27/02/1990ReigateSigned
Marcus Fox27/02/1990ShipleySigned
Roy Beggs28/02/1990East AntrimSigned
Ivan Lawrence01/03/1990BurtonSigned
Paul Marland01/03/1990Gloucestershire WestSigned
Michael Grylls07/03/1990Surrey North WestSigned
Winston Churchill13/03/1990DavyhulmeSigned
Den Dover29/03/1990ChorleySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.