Parliament Website

Congratulations To Nelson Mandela And The Anti-Apartheid Movement

EDM number 509 in 1989-90, proposed by Jimmy Wray on 12/02/1990.

That this House joins the celebrations for the release of Nelson Mandela from his unjust imprisonment and for the hope of a new beginning in South Africa-Azania; urges President de Klerk to go further in the search for peace and reconciliation by dismantling the still intact structures of the oppressive apartheid; thanks the BBC and ITV for allowing the British people to share both the joy of seeing Nelson Mandela walking out of imprisonment and towards his people in order to lead them into freedom and democracy and also for showing us during the past days the full horror of police attacks against black and white supporters of the ANC and the UDF; salutes the courage of those who, like Steve Biko, died for the cause of justice and freedom and of those who, like Nelson Mandela, Archbishop Tutu and many others, kept the struggle and hope alive; seeing all the anti-apartheid victims and supporters as the real builders of this new beginning and respects and follows their decision to keep the unrelenting pressure of sanctions until apartheid is really dismantled; and longs to see the day in which South Africa-Azania is united in peace, prosperity and freedom under a political system of one person one vote.

This motion has been signed by a total of 39 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

James Wray12/02/1990Glasgow ProvanProposed
John McAllion12/02/1990Dundee EastSigned
Alan Meale12/02/1990MansfieldSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie12/02/1990Glasgow, PollokSigned
Bill Michie13/02/1990Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Dennis Turner13/02/1990Wolverhampton South EastSigned
Gerry Steinberg13/02/1990Durham, City ofSigned
John Battle13/02/1990Leeds WestSigned
Harry Barnes13/02/1990North East DerbyshireSigned
Terry Davis13/02/1990Birmingham, Hodge HillSigned
Bob Cryer13/02/1990Bradford SouthSigned
Keith Bradley13/02/1990Manchester, WithingtonSigned
Eddie Loyden13/02/1990Liverpool, GarstonSigned
David Lambie13/02/1990Cunninghame SouthSigned
Ieuan Wyn Jones13/02/1990Ynys MSigned
Doug Hoyle13/02/1990Warrington NorthSigned
Dennis Skinner13/02/1990BolsoverSigned
Martin Redmond13/02/1990Don ValleySigned
Terry Patchett13/02/1990Barnsley EastSigned
Roy Hughes14/02/1990Newport EastSigned
Tony Banks14/02/1990Newham North WestSigned
Win Griffiths14/02/1990BridgendSigned
Jeremy Corbyn14/02/1990Islington NorthSigned
Gordon Oakes14/02/1990HaltonSigned
Mildred Gordon14/02/1990Bow and PoplarSigned
Tom Cox15/02/1990TootingSigned
Ronnie Campbell15/02/1990Blyth ValleySigned
Chris Mullin15/02/1990Sunderland SouthSigned
Terry Lewis15/02/1990WorsleySigned
Dawn Primarolo15/02/1990Bristol SouthSigned
Robert Parry15/02/1990Liverpool, RiversideSigned
Max Madden19/02/1990Bradford WestSigned
Audrey Wise19/02/1990PrestonSigned
Andrew Faulds20/02/1990Warley EastSigned
Maria Fyfe20/02/1990Glasgow, MaryhillSigned
Tommy Graham20/02/1990Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Jack Thompson02/03/1990WansbeckSigned
Eric Illsley07/03/1990Barnsley CentralSigned
George GallowayUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.