Parliament Website

Eastbourne-Lewes-london Rail Service

EDM number 578 in 1989-90, proposed by Ronnie Fearn on 19/02/1990.

That this House condemns the proposal of British Rail to withdraw from May the 7.42 Eastbourne, 8.07 Lewes, to London train, one of only four rush hour services from these stations to London on weekday mornings; further condemns the late announcement of this proposal so as to minimise the opportunity for public opposition; notes that these and other cuts, coupled with the recent massive fare rises, are a result of the Government's dogmatic policy of forcing Network SouthEast to break even, whatever the consequences for the level of service or the effect on the environment; regrets that British Rail is prepared to cave in to this ludicrous policy; suggests that commuters in the South East are entitled to a decent train service and object to paying for the Government's philosophical beliefs through higher fares, fewer trains and ever greater overcrowding; congratulates Liberal Democrat councillors on East Sussex County Council for exposing this proposal and for organising a petition against it; demands that British Rail stand up for the rail network; and calls upon the Government to stop bashing the commuter and to take steps to improve the rail network rather than undermining it, the environment and the British economy.

This motion has been signed by a total of 7 MPs.

Ronnie Fearn19/02/1990SouthportProposed
Geraint Howells19/02/1990Ceredigion and Pembroke NorthSigned
Simon Hughes19/02/1990Southwark and BermondseySigned
Charles Kennedy19/02/1990Ross and Cromarty and SkyeSigned
Malcolm Bruce19/02/1990GordonSigned
Jim Wallace19/02/1990Orkney & ShetlandSigned
Alex Carlile22/02/1990MontgomerySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.