Parliament Website

Reduction In Staffing Levels At Dss Offices

EDM number 229 in 1990-91, proposed by Jeremy Corbyn on 12/12/1990.

That this House applauds the stand taken by Department of Social Security staff, who are members of CPSA and NUCPS, employed at Tavistock House, Bloomsbury, and at 10 other Department of Social Security offices, against management attempts to further reduce staffing levels; notes that Department of Social Security staff in Bloomsbury and elsewhere deal with hostel and homeless families in hotels, and people of no fixed abode, who rely on regular payments just to survive; believes further staff reductions will adversely affect those least able to care for themselves; and calls on the Secretary of State to instruct management to desist from its action and join with the trades unions in meaningful discussions to resolve these disputes.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Jeremy Corbyn12/12/1990Islington NorthProposed
Ken Livingstone12/12/1990Brent EastSeconded
Bill Michie12/12/1990Sheffield, HeeleySeconded
Max Madden12/12/1990Bradford WestSigned
Robert Parry12/12/1990Liverpool, RiversideSigned
Dennis Skinner12/12/1990BolsoverSigned
Eddie Loyden12/12/1990Liverpool, GarstonSigned
Alice Mahon12/12/1990HalifaxSigned
Bob Cryer12/12/1990Bradford SouthSigned
Terry Davis12/12/1990Birmingham, Hodge HillSigned
Peter Hardy13/12/1990WentworthSigned
Doug Hoyle13/12/1990Warrington NorthSigned
Alan Meale13/12/1990MansfieldSigned
Ron Davies13/12/1990CaerphillySigned
John Evans13/12/1990St Helens NorthSigned
Norman Godman13/12/1990Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Harry Barnes13/12/1990North East DerbyshireSigned
Tom Cox14/12/1990TootingSigned
Martin Redmond17/12/1990Don ValleySigned
Eric Illsley17/12/1990Barnsley CentralSigned
Mo Mowlam17/12/1990RedcarSigned
Harry Cohen17/12/1990LeytonSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie17/12/1990Glasgow, PollokSigned
Austin Mitchell18/12/1990Great GrimsbySigned
John Battle18/12/1990Leeds WestSigned
Chris Smith19/12/1990Islington South & FinsburySigned
John Cummings14/01/1991EasingtonSigned
Diane Abbott17/01/1991Hackney North & Stoke NewingtonSigned
James Wray21/01/1991Glasgow ProvanSigned
Joan Ruddock28/01/1991Lewisham, DeptfordSigned
Martyn Jones30/01/1991Clwyd South WestSigned
Tommy Graham30/01/1991Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Dennis Turner04/02/1991Wolverhampton South EastSigned
Ronald Brown07/02/1991Edinburgh LeithSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.