Parliament Website


EDM number 85 in 1990-91, proposed by Ann Winterton on 16/11/1990.

That this House notes the statement in Le Monde of 1st August by M. Edouard Sakiz that as abortifacient procedures go the drug RU486 is not at all easy to use, that the woman has to live with her abortion for at least a week, and that this is an appalling psychological ordeal; notes that M. Sakiz is in fact Chairman of Roussel Uclaf which manufactures the abortifacient drug in question; shares his concern about its use and its implications for women's health; and urges the Secretary of State not to licence this dangerous product for use in the United Kingdom.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs.

Ann Winterton16/11/1990CongletonProposed
Elizabeth Peacock20/11/1990Batley & SpenSigned
John Blackburn21/11/1990Dudley WestSigned
David Alton13/12/1990Liverpool Mossley HillSigned
Marcus Fox20/12/1990ShipleySigned
William Powell15/01/1991CorbySigned
Michael Clark17/01/1991RochfordSigned
Stephen Day22/01/1991CheadleSigned
Humfrey Malins23/01/1991Croydon North WestSigned
Vivian Bendall24/01/1991Ilford NorthSigned
Ronnie Fearn28/01/1991SouthportSigned
Peter Griffiths05/02/1991Portsmouth NorthSigned
David Sumberg05/02/1991Bury SouthSigned
Alistair Burt13/02/1991Bury NorthSigned
Joe Benton13/02/1991BootleSigned
Jerry Hayes18/02/1991HarlowSigned
Andrew Hunter21/02/1991BasingstokeSigned
Geoffrey Dickens21/02/1991Littleborough and SaddleworthSigned
Harry Greenway21/02/1991Ealing NorthSigned
Peter Fry26/02/1991WellingboroughSigned
Margaret Ewing27/02/1991MoraySigned
Michael Alison27/02/1991SelbySigned
Peggy Fenner04/03/1991MedwaySigned
David Atkinson04/03/1991Bournemouth EastSigned
Alan Beith04/03/1991Berwick-upon-TweedSigned
Thomas McAvoy05/03/1991Glasgow, RutherglenSigned
Bill Cash05/03/1991StaffordSigned
Den Dover05/03/1991ChorleySigned
David Evennett05/03/1991Erith and CrayfordSigned
Gerard Vaughan05/03/1991Reading EastSigned
Teddy Taylor06/03/1991Southend EastSigned
John Watts06/03/1991SloughSigned
Patrick Cormack06/03/1991South StaffordshireSigned
Martin Smyth07/03/1991Belfast SouthSigned
Winston Churchill11/03/1991DavyhulmeSigned
Andrew Bowden13/03/1991Brighton, KemptownSigned
Ken Maginnis15/03/1991Fermanagh & South TyroneSigned
Roy Beggs26/03/1991East AntrimSigned
Seamus Mallon15/04/1991Newry & ArmaghSigned
Malcolm Thornton25/04/1991CrosbySigned
Jim Wallace14/10/1991Orkney & ShetlandSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.