Parliament Website

Protecting Workers On Sundays

EDM number 392 in 1991-92, proposed by Austin Mitchell on 12/12/1991.

That this House believes that the long-term solution to the Sunday trading issue lies in ensuring effective protection of shop workers against pressure to work on Sundays, securing pay and conditions and preventing exploitation; that once these crucial elements are secured the other questions become easier to solve; and calls upon Her Majesty's Government to give urgent consideration to these important matters as the first step to real progress.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

Austin Mitchell12/12/1991Great GrimsbyProposed
Jerry Hayes12/12/1991HarlowSigned
Archy Kirkwood12/12/1991Roxburgh & BerwickshireSigned
Chris Mullin12/12/1991Sunderland SouthSigned
Simon Coombs12/12/1991SwindonSigned
James Couchman12/12/1991GillinghamSigned
George Gardiner12/12/1991ReigateSigned
Nicol Stephen12/12/1991Kincardine and DeesideSigned
Alan Meale13/12/1991MansfieldSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe16/12/1991LeighSigned
John Battle16/12/1991Leeds WestSigned
Huw Edwards16/12/1991MonmouthSigned
Frank Cook16/12/1991Stockton NorthSigned
Ronnie Campbell16/12/1991Blyth ValleySigned
Gordon Oakes16/12/1991HaltonSigned
Terry Lewis16/12/1991WorsleySigned
Robert Parry17/12/1991Liverpool, RiversideSigned
Terry Patchett17/12/1991Barnsley EastSigned
Tom Cox17/12/1991TootingSigned
Bob Cryer17/12/1991Bradford SouthSigned
John Cummings17/12/1991EasingtonSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie17/12/1991Glasgow, PollokSigned
Irene Adams17/12/1991Paisley NorthSigned
Tim Rathbone18/12/1991LewesSigned
Jack Thompson18/12/1991WansbeckSigned
Kevin Barron18/12/1991Rother ValleySigned
Hilary Armstrong18/12/1991North West DurhamSigned
Roland Boyes18/12/1991Houghton and WashingtonSigned
Ray Michie18/12/1991Argyll & ButeSigned
Geraint Howells18/12/1991Ceredigion and Pembroke NorthSigned
John Garrett18/12/1991Norwich SouthSigned
Gerry Steinberg19/12/1991Durham, City ofSigned
George Foulkes13/01/1992Carrick, Cumnock and Doon ValleySigned
Frank Doran14/01/1992Aberdeen SouthSigned
Tony Worthington14/01/1992Clydebank & MilngavieSigned
Joyce Quin16/01/1992Gateshead EastSigned
Joan Lestor20/01/1992EcclesSigned
Elliot Morley21/01/1992Glanford and ScunthorpeSigned
Kim Howells23/01/1992PontypriddSigned
Geoffrey Lofthouse23/01/1992Pontefract & CastlefordSigned
Edward O'Hara23/01/1992Knowsley SouthSigned
Tommy Graham23/01/1992Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Martyn Jones03/02/1992Clwyd South WestSigned
David Clelland10/02/1992Tyne BridgeSigned
Ian Paisley11/02/1992North AntrimSigned
William McCrea11/02/1992Mid UlsterSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.