Parliament Website

Mrs Yve Newbold

EDM number 693 in 1991-92, proposed by Chris Mullin on 18/02/1992.

That this House regrets the appearance of Mrs Yve Newbold, a member of the Royal Commission on Criminal Justice, on the BBC Televison programme Question Time on 6th February. on which she called for the re-introduction of internment without trial in Northern Ireland and went on to express the view that the police 'know' who the terrorists are and to imply that this instinct on the part of the police is an adequate substitute for a fair trial; recalls that it was precisely such delusions that led the West Midlands Police to believe that they had captured the persons responsible for the Birmingham pub bombings; further recalls that it was the discovery that they had not that led the Home Secretary to establish the Royal Commission on which Mrs Newbold now sits; and invites Mrs Newbold to consider if the credibility of the Royal Commission might be best assisted by her resignation.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Chris Mullin18/02/1992Sunderland SouthProposed
Martin Redmond18/02/1992Don ValleySigned
Alan Wynne Williams18/02/1992CarmarthenSigned
Harry Barnes18/02/1992North East DerbyshireSigned
Tony Banks18/02/1992Newham North WestSigned
Harry Ewing18/02/1992Falkirk EastSigned
Kenneth Eastham18/02/1992Manchester, BlackleySigned
Tom Cox18/02/1992TootingSigned
Jim Cousins18/02/1992Newcastle upon Tyne CentralSigned
Frank Cook18/02/1992Stockton NorthSigned
Dave Nellist18/02/1992Coventry South EastSigned
Bill Michie18/02/1992Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Eric Martlew18/02/1992CarlisleSigned
Jim Marshall18/02/1992Leicester SouthSigned
Eddie Loyden18/02/1992Liverpool, GarstonSigned
Joan Lestor18/02/1992EcclesSigned
Clare Short18/02/1992Birmingham, LadywoodSigned
Richard Caborn18/02/1992Sheffield CentralSigned
Peter Hardy19/02/1992WentworthSigned
John Battle19/02/1992Leeds WestSigned
Keith Bradley19/02/1992Manchester, WithingtonSigned
William McKelvey19/02/1992Kilmarnock & LoudounSigned
John McAllion19/02/1992Dundee EastSigned
Eric Illsley19/02/1992Barnsley CentralSigned
Dennis Skinner19/02/1992BolsoverSigned
Ernie Ross19/02/1992Dundee WestSigned
Robert Parry19/02/1992Liverpool, RiversideSigned
Max Madden19/02/1992Bradford WestSigned
Harry Cohen20/02/1992LeytonSigned
Mike Watson20/02/1992Glasgow CentralSigned
Jack Thompson25/02/1992WansbeckSigned
Audrey Wise03/03/1992PrestonSigned
John Cummings05/03/1992EasingtonSigned
Tommy Graham05/03/1992Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Dennis Turner05/03/1992Wolverhampton South EastSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.