Parliament Website

Democracy And Military Rule In Nigeria

EDM number 1318 in 1993-94, proposed by Alan Duncan on 14/06/1994.

That this House notes that it is one year since Nigeria held free and fair democratic elections, the results of which were subsequently annulled by the diktat of military ruler General Ibrahim Babangida; recognises that Chief Moshood Abiola was widely considered to be the duly elected President of Nigeria; notes that Chief Abiola, having escaped from house arrest, has announced the formation of a civilian government of national unity following which Babangida's successor, General Sani Abacha, has declared him a wanted man and has offered a reward for information as to his whereabouts; calls upon General Abacha to step down immediately and return Nigeria to democratic civilian rule; and urges individual governments and the United Nations to support Chief Moshood Abiola in his legitimate claim to the office to which the people of Nigeria have elected him.

This motion has been signed by a total of 68 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Alan Duncan14/06/1994Rutland & MeltonProposed
Nick Hawkins14/06/1994Blackpool SouthSigned
Andrew Hunter14/06/1994BasingstokeSigned
Anthony Coombs14/06/1994Wyre ForestSigned
James Cran14/06/1994BeverleySigned
Nirj Deva14/06/1994Brentford & IsleworthSigned
Geoffrey Dickens14/06/1994Littleborough and SaddleworthSigned
Terry Dicks14/06/1994Hayes & HarlingtonSigned
Bob Dunn14/06/1994DartfordSigned
Anthony Durant14/06/1994Reading WestSigned
Michael Fabricant14/06/1994Staffordshire MidSigned
Harry Greenway14/06/1994Ealing NorthSigned
Andrew Faulds15/06/1994Warley EastSigned
David Nicholson15/06/1994TauntonSigned
Ken Livingstone15/06/1994Brent EastSigned
David Knox15/06/1994Staffordshire MoorlandsSigned
Peter Hardy16/06/1994WentworthSigned
Keith Hill16/06/1994StreathamSigned
Alex Carlile16/06/1994MontgomerySigned
Michael Clapham16/06/1994Barnsley West & PenistoneSigned
Harry Cohen17/06/1994LeytonSigned
Jim Dowd20/06/1994Lewisham WestSigned
Lynne Jones21/06/1994Birmingham, Selly OakSigned
Roy Hughes22/06/1994Newport EastSigned
Martyn Jones22/06/1994Clwyd South WestSigned
Piara S Khabra22/06/1994Ealing, SouthallSigned
Mike Hall22/06/1994Warrington SouthSigned
Win Griffiths23/06/1994BridgendSigned
Peter Hain23/06/1994NeathSigned
Tony Worthington23/06/1994Clydebank & MilngavieSigned
Joe Benton23/06/1994BootleSigned
Bill Etherington23/06/1994Sunderland NorthSigned
John Denham23/06/1994Southampton, ItchenSigned
Michael Colvin23/06/1994Romsey and WatersideSigned
Ivan Lawrence23/06/1994BurtonSigned
Frank Field23/06/1994BirkenheadSigned
Denis MacShane24/06/1994RotherhamSigned
William McCrea27/06/1994Mid UlsterSigned
Cecil Walker27/06/1994Belfast NorthSigned
Roy Beggs27/06/1994East AntrimSigned
Hugh Bayley27/06/1994York, City ofSigned
John Evans27/06/1994St Helens NorthSigned
Tim Rathbone27/06/1994LewesSigned
John McWilliam27/06/1994BlaydonSigned
Winston Churchill27/06/1994DavyhulmeSigned
Mildred Gordon27/06/1994Bow and PoplarSigned
Joyce Quin28/06/1994Gateshead EastSigned
Vivian Bendall28/06/1994Ilford NorthSigned
Norman Godman28/06/1994Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Barry Jones28/06/1994Alyn & DeesideSigned
John Hume28/06/1994FoyleSigned
Jane Kennedy28/06/1994Liverpool BroadgreenSigned
Richard Burden29/06/1994Birmingham, NorthfieldSigned
George Galloway30/06/1994Glasgow HillheadSigned
Dennis Turner30/06/1994Wolverhampton South EastSigned
Patrick Thompson30/06/1994Norwich NorthSigned
Jim Cunningham04/07/1994Coventry South EastSigned
Michael Connarty05/07/1994Falkirk EastSigned
Richard Alexander05/07/1994NewarkSigned
Elfyn Llwyd06/07/1994Meirionnydd Nant ConwySigned
Dale Campbell-Savours07/07/1994WorkingtonSigned
Jeremy Bray13/07/1994Motherwell SouthSigned
Robert Parry14/07/1994Liverpool, RiversideSigned
David Mitchell18/07/1994North West HampshireSigned
Mike Gapes20/07/1994Ilford SouthSigned
John Gunnell20/07/1994Leeds South and MorleySigned
John Heppell21/07/1994Nottingham EastSigned
Ann WintertonUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.