Parliament Website

Confidence Motion - Division 109 Of 28th March 1979

EDM number 955 in 1993-94, proposed by Norman Hogg on 25/03/1994.

That this House recalls that on 28th March 1979 the then 11 honourable Members representing the Scottish National Party voted with the Tory Party thus bringing down the Labour Government; notes with profound regret and concern the appalling consequences this action has wrought on the people of Scotland over the past 15 years, including a doubling of unemployment, the loss of major industries, savage reductions in health and personal services, a massive escalation of crime, homelessness at an unparalleled level and culminating in the proposals now before Parliament for the destruction of democratic control over the Scottish water industry and the gerrymandering of the local government boundaries; and demands that, notwithstanding the demise of the Scottish National Party as a political force, the Nationalist leadership apologises to the people of Scotland for their collaboration in facilitating the election of the Thatcher Government and calls for a debate on the governance of Scotland to mark the fifteenth anniversary of this shameful event.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

Norman Hogg25/03/1994Cumbernauld & KilsythProposed
James Wray25/03/1994Glasgow ProvanSigned
David Winnick25/03/1994Walsall NorthSigned
Irene Adams25/03/1994Paisley NorthSigned
Norman Godman25/03/1994Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Sam Galbraith25/03/1994Strathkelvin & BearsdenSigned
Maria Fyfe25/03/1994Glasgow, MaryhillSigned
Ian Davidson25/03/1994Glasgow, GovanSigned
Martin O'Neill25/03/1994ClackmannanSigned
Lewis Moonie25/03/1994KirkcaldySigned
John Home Robertson25/03/1994East LothianSigned
Jimmy Hood25/03/1994ClydesdaleSigned
Adam Ingram25/03/1994East KilbrideSigned
Calum MacDonald25/03/1994Na h-Eileanan an IarSigned
John McFall25/03/1994DumbartonSigned
Henry McLeish25/03/1994Central FifeSigned
Brian Wilson28/03/1994Cunninghame NorthSigned
Harry Barnes28/03/1994North East DerbyshireSigned
Jimmy Dunnachie28/03/1994Glasgow, PollokSigned
John Cummings28/03/1994EasingtonSigned
Michael Connarty28/03/1994Falkirk EastSigned
Eric Clarke28/03/1994MidlothianSigned
Bill Michie28/03/1994Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Alan Meale28/03/1994MansfieldSigned
Robert Hughes28/03/1994Aberdeen NorthSigned
Kim Howells28/03/1994PontypriddSigned
Bridget Prentice28/03/1994Lewisham EastSigned
Greg Pope28/03/1994HyndburnSigned
Andrew Faulds29/03/1994Warley EastSigned
Jim Dowd29/03/1994Lewisham WestSigned
Michael Clapham29/03/1994Barnsley West & PenistoneSigned
Ian McCartney29/03/1994MakerfieldSigned
Eric Illsley29/03/1994Barnsley CentralSigned
Tony Worthington30/03/1994Clydebank & MilngavieSigned
Dennis Turner30/03/1994Wolverhampton South EastSigned
Jean Corston30/03/1994Bristol EastSigned
Alan Simpson30/03/1994Nottingham SouthSigned
Colin Pickthall30/03/1994West LancashireSigned
Robert Parry31/03/1994Liverpool, RiversideSigned
Mike Hall13/04/1994Warrington SouthSigned
Eddie Loyden14/04/1994Liverpool, GarstonSigned
David Clelland14/04/1994Tyne BridgeSigned
Tommy Graham20/04/1994Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Martyn Jones27/04/1994Clwyd South WestSigned
Allan Rogers25/05/1994RhonddaSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.