Parliament Website

British Gas

EDM number 106 in 1994-95, proposed by Diana Maddock on 23/11/1994.

That this House notes that the Gas Consumers' Council is a watchdog body whose job it is to campaign on behalf of gas users; notes that it is funded by central Government but that most of the cost is recovered from British Gas via a licence fee; notes that this spring the Government cut the funding of the Council by ú209,000, with the effect that British Gas now pay ú207,000 less through their licence fee and that the Government said at the time this would save gas users money; further notes that this week British Gas have announced that their Chief Executive's salary will be going up by ú205,000 next year; condemns this alternative use of the money; and calls for the Government to restore adequate funding to the Gas Consumers' Council.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs.

Diana Maddock23/11/1994ChristchurchProposed
David Rendel23/11/1994NewburySigned
Nigel Jones23/11/1994CheltenhamSigned
David Chidgey23/11/1994EastleighSigned
Matthew Taylor23/11/1994TruroSigned
Jim Wallace23/11/1994Orkney & ShetlandSigned
Ronnie Campbell24/11/1994Blyth ValleySigned
Paul Tyler24/11/1994North CornwallSigned
Don Foster24/11/1994BathSigned
John Cummings24/11/1994EasingtonSigned
Malcolm Bruce24/11/1994GordonSigned
Liz Lynne24/11/1994RochdaleSigned
Ken Livingstone24/11/1994Brent EastSigned
Lynne Jones24/11/1994Birmingham, Selly OakSigned
Ray Michie25/11/1994Argyll & ButeSigned
Alex Carlile25/11/1994MontgomerySigned
Jim Cunningham28/11/1994Coventry South EastSigned
Audrey Wise28/11/1994PrestonSigned
Rachel Squire29/11/1994Dunfermline WestSigned
Jack Thompson29/11/1994WansbeckSigned
Ian Davidson29/11/1994Glasgow, GovanSigned
Michael Connarty29/11/1994Falkirk EastSigned
Michael Clapham29/11/1994Barnsley West & PenistoneSigned
John Heppell29/11/1994Nottingham EastSigned
Eddie Loyden30/11/1994Liverpool, GarstonSigned
Alan Simpson01/12/1994Nottingham SouthSigned
Nick Harvey01/12/1994North DevonSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe01/12/1994LeighSigned
Andrew MacKinlay02/12/1994ThurrockSigned
Anne Campbell08/12/1994CambridgeSigned
Tommy Graham08/12/1994Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Mike Hall08/12/1994Warrington SouthSigned
Simon Hughes12/12/1994Southwark and BermondseySigned
Martyn Jones13/12/1994Clwyd South WestSigned
Hugh Bayley13/12/1994York, City ofSigned
Harry Cohen15/12/1994LeytonSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.