Parliament Website

Isle Of Eigg Trust

EDM number 43 in 1996-97, proposed by Roseanna Cunningham on 23/10/1996.

That this House supports the Isle of Eigg Trust in its efforts to raise the finances to enable the community, in partnership with Highland Council and the Scottish Wildlife Trust, to buy and run the island; notes with dismay that successive absentee landlords have allowed the island and the estate properties to deteriorate; recognises that the vagaries of the private landlord system have left the islanders facing an insecure future; further recognises that a sustainable future for the community and the environment on Eigg can only be possible with community ownership and control; and notes that the situation on Eigg highlights an urgent need for radical land reform across Scotland to overhaul the medieval system of land tenure which tolerates land misuse and abuse.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Roseanna Cunningham23/10/1996Perth and KinrossProposed
John Heppell24/10/1996Nottingham EastSigned
Lynne Jones24/10/1996Birmingham, Selly OakSigned
Michael Clapham24/10/1996Barnsley West & PenistoneSigned
Calum MacDonald25/10/1996Na h-Eileanan an IarSigned
Harry Barnes25/10/1996North East DerbyshireSigned
Audrey Wise28/10/1996PrestonSigned
John Cummings28/10/1996EasingtonSigned
Jeremy Corbyn28/10/1996Islington NorthSigned
Michael Connarty28/10/1996Falkirk EastSigned
Colin Pickthall28/10/1996West LancashireSigned
Alex Salmond29/10/1996Banff & BuchanSigned
Elfyn Llwyd29/10/1996Meirionnydd Nant ConwySigned
Bill Michie29/10/1996Sheffield, HeeleySigned
Ian Davidson29/10/1996Glasgow, GovanSigned
Margaret Ewing29/10/1996MoraySigned
Norman Godman29/10/1996Greenock and Port GlasgowSigned
Andrew Welsh29/10/1996Angus EastSigned
Ieuan Wyn Jones30/10/1996Ynys MSigned
Dafydd Wigley30/10/1996CaernarfonSigned
Maria Fyfe30/10/1996Glasgow, MaryhillSigned
Kevin McNamara30/10/1996Kingston upon Hull NorthSigned
John McAllion30/10/1996Dundee EastSigned
Eddie Loyden30/10/1996Liverpool, GarstonSigned
Rachel Squire31/10/1996Dunfermline WestSigned
Dennis Turner31/10/1996Wolverhampton South EastSigned
Ken Livingstone05/11/1996Brent EastSigned
Paul Flynn05/11/1996Newport WestSigned
Tommy Graham06/11/1996Renfrew West and InverclydeSigned
Mike Hall06/11/1996Warrington SouthSigned
Martyn Jones07/11/1996Clwyd South WestSigned
Dale Campbell-Savours07/11/1996WorkingtonSigned
Bill Etherington12/11/1996Sunderland NorthSigned
Mike Watson13/11/1996Glasgow CentralSigned
Robert Maclennan14/11/1996Caithness and SutherlandSigned
Tony Benn14/11/1996ChesterfieldSigned
Allan Rogers03/12/1996RhonddaSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.