Parliament Website

Guillotine On The European Communities (Amendment) Bill

EDM number 672 in 1997-98, proposed by Michael Howard on 21/01/1998.

That this House deplores the arrogant deployment of the guillotine on the European Communities (Amendment) Bill; observes that none of the three criteria for legitimate use of that Parliamentary device were evident in that debate; notes that no blocking attempts or filibustering were undertaken by any member of the Opposition; perceives that the need for a basic minimum of time for total analysis of a complex international treaty in committee stage has not been fulfilled; regrets the marked absence of substantial contributions from the Government benches, with the rare exception of brave backbench dissidents; and implores Her Majesty's Government to permit a full and open analysis of the agreements reached at Amsterdam to be undertaken in the House of Lords so that the objectionable elements of an unsatisfactory treaty may be fully exposed to public display.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Michael Howard21/01/1998Folkestone & HytheConservativeProposed
Gerald Howarth21/01/1998AldershotConservativeSigned
Robert Syms21/01/1998PooleConservativeSigned
Gary Streeter21/01/1998South West DevonConservativeSigned
Philip Hammond21/01/1998Runnymede & WeybridgeConservativeSigned
Christopher Gill21/01/1998LudlowConservativeSigned
Michael Fallon21/01/1998SevenoaksConservativeSigned
David Faber21/01/1998WestburyConservativeSigned
Julian Brazier21/01/1998CanterburyConservativeSigned
James Paice21/01/1998South East CambridgeshireConservativeSigned
Patrick Nicholls21/01/1998TeignbridgeConservativeSigned
David Maclean21/01/1998Penrith & The BorderConservativeSigned
Jacqui Lait21/01/1998BeckenhamConservativeSigned
Bernard Jenkin21/01/1998North EssexConservativeSigned
Christopher Chope21/01/1998ChristchurchConservativeSigned
Graham Brady22/01/1998Altrincham & Sale WestConservativeSigned
Nicholas Winterton22/01/1998MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
John Wilkinson22/01/1998Ruislip - NorthwoodConservativeSigned
Michael Colvin22/01/1998RomseyConservativeSigned
Nick Hawkins22/01/1998Surrey HeathConservativeSigned
Nicholas Soames22/01/1998Mid SussexConservativeSigned
Nigel Evans23/01/1998Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Marion Roe26/01/1998BroxbourneConservativeSigned
Julian Lewis26/01/1998New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Crispin Blunt26/01/1998ReigateConservativeSigned
Desmond Swayne27/01/1998New Forest WestConservativeSigned
Howard Flight29/01/1998Arundel & South DownsConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.