Parliament Website

Agenda For The German Presidency

EDM number 181 in 1998-99, proposed by John Butterfill on 13/01/1999.

That this House notes with concern the suggestions made by Herr Oskar Lafontaine and certain members of the European Commission that it would be desirable to harmonise corporate tax rates throughout the EC; notes that other fully federal states, such as the USA and Canada, have achieved single markets whilst tolerating widely varying state and provincial corporate tax rates, such as nil in Texas against 9.9 per cent. in Pennsylvania, and 8.9 per cent. in Quebec against 17 per cent. in Manitoba; and urges the Government to resist unnecessary proposals of this nature and to impress upon the Government of the Federal Republic of Germany the desirability of using its presidency of the European Union to focus constructively on matters requiring attention such as reform of the Common Agricultural Policy and the elimination of fraud.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

John Butterfill13/01/1999Bournemouth WestConservativeProposed
Marion Roe13/01/1999BroxbourneConservativeSigned
Nicholas Winterton13/01/1999MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Bowen Wells13/01/1999Hertford & StortfordConservativeSigned
Ian Taylor13/01/1999Esher & WaltonConservativeSigned
John Bercow13/01/1999BuckinghamConservativeSigned
Archie Hamilton13/01/1999Epsom & EwellConservativeSigned
Teresa Gorman13/01/1999BillericayConservativeSigned
Christopher Gill13/01/1999LudlowConservativeSigned
Michael Clark13/01/1999RayleighConservativeSigned
Graham Brady13/01/1999Altrincham & Sale WestConservativeSigned
Michael Mates13/01/1999East HampshireConservativeSigned
Jacqui Lait13/01/1999BeckenhamConservativeSigned
Julie Kirkbride13/01/1999BromsgroveConservativeSigned
Geoffrey Johnson Smith13/01/1999WealdenConservativeSigned
Quentin Davies13/01/1999Grantham & StamfordConservativeSigned
Tim Loughton14/01/1999East Worthing & ShorehamConservativeSigned
John Wilkinson14/01/1999Ruislip - NorthwoodConservativeSigned
John Whittingdale14/01/1999Maldon & East ChelmsfordConservativeSigned
Robert Syms14/01/1999PooleConservativeSigned
Peter Luff14/01/1999Mid WorcestershireConservativeSigned
Julian Lewis14/01/1999New Forest EastConservativeSigned
William Cash20/01/1999StoneConservativeSigned
David Atkinson20/01/1999Bournemouth EastConservativeSigned
Peter Emery25/01/1999East DevonConservativeSigned
Alan ClarkUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.