Parliament Website

Self-Regulation Of The Medical Profession

EDM number 1010 in 1999-00, proposed by Frank Cook on 24/07/2000.

That this House, bearing in mind the circumstances demonstrated by the recent cases of Dr Shipman and Messrs Ledward and Neale, registers grave concern at the failure and/or tardiness of the medical profession to police properly its membership; and calls upon Her Majesty's Government to institute as a matter of urgency an independent body to receive and assess complaints related to all those professionals who exercise at whatever level the power of life and death over those individuals committed to their care.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Frank Cook24/07/2000Stockton NorthLabourProposed
Ashok Kumar25/07/2000Middlesbrough South & East ClevelandLabourSigned
Harry Barnes25/07/2000North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Norman Godman25/07/2000Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn25/07/2000Islington NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson26/07/2000Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones26/07/2000Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Jackie Lawrence26/07/2000Preseli PembrokeshireLabourSigned
Alice Mahon26/07/2000HalifaxLabourSigned
Bill Michie26/07/2000Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara26/07/2000Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Eric Clarke26/07/2000MidlothianLabourSigned
Terry Davis26/07/2000Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Rudi Vis26/07/2000Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt27/07/2000Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Simon Thomas27/07/2000CeredigionPlaid CymruSigned
Gerry Steinberg27/07/2000Durham, City ofLabourSigned
Paul Flynn27/07/2000Newport WestLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard27/07/2000WalthamstowLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin27/07/2000Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Tony Clarke27/07/2000Northampton SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins27/07/2000Luton NorthLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara28/07/2000Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Harry Cohen28/07/2000Leyton & WansteadLabourSigned
Janet Dean28/07/2000BurtonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer23/10/2000KeighleyLabourSigned
Bill Etherington23/10/2000Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
John Swinney23/10/2000North TaysideScottish National PartySigned
Win Griffiths25/10/2000BridgendLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner26/10/2000BolsoverLabourSigned
Syd Rapson30/10/2000Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Lawrence Cunliffe30/10/2000LeighLabourSigned
David Taylor30/10/2000North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Jon Trickett08/11/2000HemsworthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.