Parliament Website

Newham Council

EDM number 549 in 1999-00, proposed by Tony Banks on 17/03/2000.

That this House congratulates the Council Leader, members and staff of the London Borough of Newham for their spectacular successes in the Local Government Chronicle Annual Awards; notes Newham was voted Council of the Year, together with the award of Housing Team of the Year, Public Relations Team of the Year and Finance Team of the Year; further notes the borough was also highly commended in the Legal, Managerial and Information Technology categories at the awards ceremony in London on 14th March; believes these awards are a fitting acknowledgement of the advances made in the delivery of quality services in one of the most deprived local authority areas in the country; calls upon Newham Council to continue with the good work; and asks the Government to acknowledge with further resources and policy initiatives the regeneration being achieved in one of Labour's oldest, traditional heartlands.

This motion has been signed by a total of 15 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Tony Banks17/03/2000West HamLabourProposed
Jim Fitzpatrick17/03/2000Poplar & Canning TownLabourSigned
Stephen Timms17/03/2000East HamLabourSigned
Paul Flynn20/03/2000Newport WestLabourSigned
Norman Godman20/03/2000Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Eric Clarke21/03/2000MidlothianLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn21/03/2000Islington NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson22/03/2000Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
John Austin23/03/2000Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara28/03/2000Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington03/04/2000Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Mike Gapes03/04/2000Ilford SouthLabour Co-operativeSigned
John McDonnell06/04/2000Hayes & HarlingtonLabourSigned
Rudi Vis12/04/2000Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Audrey WiseUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.