Parliament Website

Conduct Of Labour Honourable Members(post Office Card Accounts)(no1)

EDM number 1401 in 2002-03, proposed by David Willetts on 11/06/2003.

That this House deplores the fact that the Labour honourable members for Hackney North and Stoke Newington; Falmouth & Camborne; Erith & Thamesmead; West Bromwich; West Ham; Rother Valley; Leeds West; Aberdeen South; Bootle; Kingswood; Leeds North West; Sheffield Attercliffe; Waveney; Birmingham Northfield; Cambridge; Blyth Valley; Wimbledon; Gower; Morley & Rothwell; Barnsley West & Penistone; Peterborough; Cynon Valley; Putney; Islington North; Tooting; Dagenham; Keighley; Coventry South; Workington; Crosby; Linlithgow; Bristol West; Caerphilly; Llanelli; Lancaster & Wyre; Burton; Gloucester; Cunninghame South; Stroud; Monmouth; Liverpool Riverside; Sunderland North; Newcastle-under-Lyme; Birkenhead; Newport West; Stevenage; Aberavon; Ilford South; Bridgend; Midlothian; Merthyr Tydfil & Rhymney; Newcastle Upon Tyne North; Jarrow; Wirral West; Knowsley North & Sefton East; Doncaster North; Blackpool North and Fleetwood; Barnsley Central; Ogmore; Tamworth; Stafford; Liverpool Walton; Rugby & Kenilworth; South Dorset; Middlesbrough South & East Cleveland; Edinburgh North & Leith; Brighton Pavilion; Manchester Central; Wrexham; Dundee East; Western Isles; Birmingham Perry Barr; Amber Valley; Blackpool South; Medway; Glasgow Shettleston; Calder Valley; Hayes & Harlington; Glasgow Maryhill; Kingston upon Hull North; and Blaydon voted against the motion in the name of the Leader of the Opposition on Post Office Card Accounts on 11th June, despite having supported the same motion when it was tabled by the Honourable Member for Ochil as Early Day Motion 572; notes that had those Honourable Members voted for the motion then it would have been carried; calls on them to explain why they voted against a motion designed to protect the interests of vunerable pensioners and benefit recipients and to save Post Offices; and condemns the Government for its dismissal of a motion which, as an Early Day Motion, secured the support of a clear majority of Honourable Members of the House.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

David Willetts11/06/2003HavantConservativeProposed
Andrew Robathan11/06/2003BlabyConservativeSigned
Oliver Heald11/06/2003North East HertfordshireConservativeSigned
David Maclean11/06/2003Penrith & The BorderConservativeSigned
Patrick McLoughlin11/06/2003West DerbyshireConservativeSigned
Tim Yeo11/06/2003South SuffolkConservativeSigned
Bob Spink12/06/2003Castle PointConservativeSigned
Angela Watkinson12/06/2003UpminsterConservativeSigned
David Wilshire13/06/2003SpelthorneConservativeSigned
Howard Flight16/06/2003Arundel & South DownsConservativeSigned
Graham Brady17/06/2003Altrincham & Sale WestConservativeSigned
Adrian Flook17/06/2003TauntonConservativeSigned
Mark Field17/06/2003Cities of London & WestminsterConservativeSigned
Liam Fox17/06/2003WoodspringConservativeSigned
Paul Goodman17/06/2003WycombeConservativeSigned
Peter Ainsworth17/06/2003East SurreyConservativeSigned
Peter Atkinson17/06/2003HexhamConservativeSigned
Peter Bottomley17/06/2003Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Gary Streeter17/06/2003South West DevonConservativeSigned
Bill Wiggin17/06/2003LeominsterConservativeSigned
Anne McIntosh17/06/2003Vale of YorkConservativeSigned
Peter Luff17/06/2003Mid WorcestershireConservativeSigned
Julian Lewis17/06/2003New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Mark Hoban17/06/2003FarehamConservativeSigned
Michael Spicer17/06/2003West WorcestershireConservativeSigned
Andrew Selous17/06/2003South West BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Jonathan Sayeed17/06/2003Mid BedfordshireConservativeSigned
Andrew Rosindell17/06/2003RomfordConservativeSigned
Laurence Robertson17/06/2003TewkesburyConservativeSigned
Eric Pickles17/06/2003Brentwood & OngarConservativeSigned
Patrick Mercer17/06/2003NewarkConservativeSigned
Eleanor Laing18/06/2003Epping ForestConservativeSigned
Cheryl Gillan18/06/2003Chesham & AmershamConservativeSigned
Peter Duncan18/06/2003Galloway & Upper NithsdaleConservativeSigned
Simon Burns18/06/2003West ChelmsfordConservativeSigned
Keith Simpson18/06/2003Mid NorfolkConservativeSigned
Hugh Robertson18/06/2003Faversham & Mid KentConservativeSigned
Mark Francois19/06/2003RayleighConservativeSigned
Caroline Spelman23/06/2003MeridenConservativeSigned
Charles Hendry23/06/2003WealdenConservativeSigned
Edward Garnier23/06/2003HarboroughConservativeSigned
Andrew Hunter30/06/2003BasingstokeIndependent ConservativeSigned
Ann Widdecombe30/06/2003Maidstone & The WealdConservativeSigned
Nigel Evans11/07/2003Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
James Gray11/07/2003North WiltshireConservativeSigned
Philip Hammond22/10/2003Runnymede & WeybridgeConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.