Parliament Website

Care Of Children At Dungavel

EDM number 1648 in 2002-03, proposed by George Foulkes on 09/09/2003.

That this House notes that asylum and immigration is, rightly, a matter reserved to the UK Government and Parliament; notes that, prior to the building of Dungavel removal centre, failed asylum seekers were sent to prison; further notes that most residents have failed to establish a valid claim for asylum and are awaiting removal; further notes that the staff at Dungavel are caring and concerned for the welfare of residents; and calls on any person who has concerns about any resident to raise it through members of the UK Parliament; condemns Scottish National Party and Scottish Socialist Party MSPs for using the children of asylum seekers as pawns for party political advantage; but nevertheless calls on the Home Secretary to consider whether any more appropriate arrangements can be made for the care and education of children who are in the centre for an extended period.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

George Foulkes09/09/2003Carrick, Cumnock and Doon ValleyLabour Co-operativeProposed
Ernie Ross09/09/2003Dundee WestLabourSigned
David Taylor09/09/2003North West LeicestershireLabour Co-operativeSigned
Irene Adams09/09/2003Paisley NorthLabourSigned
Brian H Donohoe09/09/2003Cunninghame SouthLabourSigned
Russell Brown09/09/2003DumfriesLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne09/09/2003AyrLabourSigned
Bill O'Brien09/09/2003NormantonLabourSigned
David Marshall09/09/2003Glasgow, ShettlestonLabourSigned
Calum MacDonald09/09/2003Na h-Eileanan an IarLabourSigned
Iain Luke09/09/2003Dundee EastLabourSigned
Helen Liddell09/09/2003Airdrie & ShottsLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz09/09/2003Edinburgh North & LeithLabour Co-operativeSigned
Frank Roy09/09/2003Motherwell & WishawLabourSigned
Rosemary McKenna09/09/2003Cumbernauld & KilsythLabourSigned
Anne Begg10/09/2003Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin10/09/2003Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Janet Dean10/09/2003BurtonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer10/09/2003KeighleyLabourSigned
Paul Flynn11/09/2003Newport WestLabourSigned
Rudi Vis11/09/2003Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Bill Etherington15/09/2003Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan16/09/2003West RenfrewshireLabourSigned
Ann McKechin16/09/2003Glasgow, MaryhillLabourSigned
Michael Clapham17/09/2003Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
David Hamilton17/09/2003MidlothianLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar14/10/2003Glasgow, GovanLabourSigned
Rob Marris21/10/2003Wolverhampton South WestLabourSigned
Alan Simpson03/11/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.