Parliament Website

Political Fund Ballots For Trade Union Members

EDM number 819 in 2002-03, proposed by John Mann on 04/03/2003.

That this House welcomes the recent result of the political fund ballot by Connect, the union for professionals in communications, with 81 per cent. of members voting in favour of retaining the political fund; notes that this is the third time Connect members have voted positively to keep the political fund; further notes the time and expense involved in running such a ballot; believes that it is time to modernise the law in this area, accepting that unions have a natural role to play in influencing the law on behalf of their members particularly in areas such as employment law, employment relations and pensions legislation; and further believes that, as individual members have the right to opt out of paying into a political fund, the Government should amend existing legislation to remove the need for 10-yearly ballots on political funds.

This motion has been signed by a total of 56 MPs.

John Mann04/03/2003BassetlawLabourProposed
Syd Rapson04/03/2003Portsmouth NorthLabourSigned
Desmond Turner04/03/2003Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Dari Taylor04/03/2003Stockton SouthLabourSigned
Vera Baird04/03/2003RedcarLabourSigned
Colin Challen04/03/2003Morley & RothwellLabourSigned
Siobhain McDonagh04/03/2003Mitcham & MordenLabourSigned
Iain Luke04/03/2003Dundee EastLabourSigned
Ian Lucas04/03/2003WrexhamLabourSigned
Geraldine Smith04/03/2003Morecambe & LunesdaleLabourSigned
Marsha Singh04/03/2003Bradford WestLabourSigned
Richard Burden05/03/2003Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Ian Gibson05/03/2003Norwich NorthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin05/03/2003Heywood & MiddletonLabour Co-operativeSigned
Wayne David05/03/2003CaerphillyLabourSigned
Ann Cryer05/03/2003KeighleyLabourSigned
Tony Colman05/03/2003PutneyLabourSigned
David Clelland05/03/2003Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
Martin Caton05/03/2003GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell05/03/2003Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Cairns05/03/2003Greenock & InverclydeLabourSigned
Alice Mahon05/03/2003HalifaxLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan05/03/2003West RenfrewshireLabourSigned
Harry Barnes06/03/2003North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Harold Best06/03/2003Leeds North WestLabourSigned
Win Griffiths06/03/2003BridgendLabourSigned
David Lepper06/03/2003Brighton, PavilionLabour Co-operativeSigned
Kelvin Hopkins06/03/2003Luton NorthLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner06/03/2003BolsoverLabourSigned
David Drew06/03/2003StroudLabour Co-operativeSigned
Tom Cox07/03/2003TootingLabourSigned
Terry Davis10/03/2003Birmingham, Hodge HillLabourSigned
Betty Williams10/03/2003ConwyLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt10/03/2003Sittingbourne & SheppeyLabourSigned
Eric Illsley11/03/2003Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Denis Murphy11/03/2003WansbeckLabourSigned
Tom Watson11/03/2003West Bromwich EastLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd12/03/2003Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore12/03/2003HendonLabourSigned
Bill Etherington12/03/2003Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis12/03/2003Finchley & Golders GreenLabourSigned
Kevin McNamara13/03/2003Kingston upon Hull NorthLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle14/03/2003ChorleyLabourSigned
John Austin14/03/2003Erith & ThamesmeadLabourSigned
John Lyons17/03/2003Strathkelvin & BearsdenLabourSigned
David Borrow17/03/2003South RibbleLabourSigned
Joan Walley17/03/2003Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson20/03/2003Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Clive Efford20/03/2003ElthamLabourSigned
Bill Tynan20/03/2003Hamilton SouthLabourSigned
Gwyneth Dunwoody25/03/2003Crewe & NantwichLabourSigned
Michael Clapham27/03/2003Barnsley West & PenistoneLabourSigned
Kevin Barron27/03/2003Rother ValleyLabourSigned
David Crausby09/04/2003Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Laura Moffatt10/04/2003CrawleyLabourSigned
Tony Clarke15/05/2003Northampton SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.