Parliament Website

Removal Of Disability Living Allowance Mobility Component

EDM number 1089 in 2010-12, proposed by Eilidh Whiteford on 24/11/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Sickness, disability and carers' benefits.

That this House condemns the decision to remove the mobility component of disability living allowance from the approximately 60,000 people living in residential care; believes that this is a lifeline support payment which gives people, including children at residential special schools, some independence; notes that few residential facilities provide free transport and the component is used so that, for example, disabled people can get a taxi for essential hospital appointments, go shopping, or even just meet friends and take part in activities in their community; further notes that an estimated 8,000 users of the Motability car scheme will be affected by the removal of the component; and acknowledges that welfare reform is necessary but believes that this cut by the Government will impact on the lives of the most vulnerable in society.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Eilidh Whiteford24/11/2010Banff and BuchanScottish National PartyProposed
Mark Durkan24/11/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Angus Robertson25/11/2010MorayScottish National PartySeconded
Elfyn Llwyd25/11/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Jonathan Edwards25/11/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Clive Efford25/11/2010ElthamLabourSeconded
John McDonnell25/11/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Graham Stringer29/11/2010Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn29/11/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson29/11/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner29/11/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
Marsha Singh29/11/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Jim Shannon29/11/2010StrangfordDUPSigned
Naomi Long30/11/2010Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Ian Paisley Jnr30/11/2010North AntrimDUPSigned
Martin Caton30/11/2010GowerLabourSigned
Keith Vaz30/11/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma30/11/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Mary Glindon30/11/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram30/11/2010Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Eric Illsley01/12/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
David Simpson01/12/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Stewart Hosie01/12/2010Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart01/12/2010Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas01/12/2010Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Michael Weir01/12/2010AngusScottish National PartySigned
Jim Dobbin02/12/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper02/12/2010West LancashireLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff06/12/2010Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
David Crausby07/12/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds09/12/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Lindsay Roy09/12/2010GlenrothesLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell09/12/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Alasdair McDonnell09/12/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Valerie Vaz13/12/2010Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Barry Gardiner20/12/2010Brent NorthLabourSigned
David Heyes10/01/2011Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
John Cryer10/01/2011Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Anne Begg24/01/2011Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Linda Riordan26/01/2011HalifaxLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil27/01/2011Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.