Parliament Website

Salt Reserves

EDM number 1358 in 2010-12, proposed by Pat Glass on 27/01/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Food and Roads.

That this House considers the Department for Transport's actions in managing and prioritising salt supplies by stealth whilst insisting that there is no crisis, denying that it is putting pressure on salt mines and suppliers to withhold supplies properly negotiated and ordered by some local authorities, whilst prioritising orders from other local authorities, to be disingenuous; and calls on the Department for Transport to publish immediately open and transparent details of the meetings of SALTCELL, which it considers tohave been re-named to avoid questions from hon. Members on these issues, along with details of the local authorities prioritised, and the tonnage supplied to such authorities and to take immediate steps to prioritise salt supplies to local authorities such as Durham County Council which, having learnt lessons from the previous winter, increased itssalt reserves, properly ordered appropriate levels of salt in advance, increased storage facilities, increased winter maintenance vehicles and equipment, sourced salt globally, and which still finds itself crucially short of salt due to the actions of the Departmentfor Transport.

This motion has been signed by a total of 20 MPs.

Pat Glass27/01/2011North West DurhamLabourProposed
Roberta Blackman-Woods27/01/2011City of DurhamLabourSeconded
Helen Goodman27/01/2011Bishop AucklandLabourSeconded
Phil Wilson27/01/2011SedgefieldLabourSeconded
Kevan Jones27/01/2011North DurhamLabourSeconded
Grahame Morris27/01/2011EasingtonLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin31/01/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn31/01/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Graham Stringer01/02/2011Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Marsha Singh01/02/2011Bradford WestLabourSigned
David Simpson02/02/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Stephen Hepburn02/02/2011JarrowLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd02/02/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop02/02/2011Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Ian Lavery02/02/2011WansbeckLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram03/02/2011Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins04/02/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Katy Clark07/02/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
David Crausby10/02/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper17/02/2011West LancashireLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.