Parliament Website

Cold Weather Payments

EDM number 1451 in 2010-12, proposed by Margaret Ritchie on 11/02/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Pensions.

That this House calls for an upgrade in cold weather payments of 250 payment and 400 respectively to those entitled on the basis that the cold weather system was created to deal with cold but not arctic conditions;seeks an adjustment in the winter fuel payment to enable all who reach the qualifying age in the calendar year to receive the payment rather than the present arrangements whereby only those who are 60 or 80 before the end of September in a calendar year receive the payment; and further calls for a change in the cold weather payment whereby a payment is triggered when there is acute cold weather for five days and not just where temperatures are at or below zero for seven days.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Margaret Ritchie11/02/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartyProposed
Mary Glindon14/02/2011North TynesideLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan14/02/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Kelvin Hopkins14/02/2011Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Jim Shannon15/02/2011StrangfordDUPSeconded
William McCrea15/02/2011South AntrimDUPSeconded
Hywel Williams16/02/2011ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Grahame Morris16/02/2011EasingtonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn16/02/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin16/02/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell16/02/2011East LondonderryDUPSigned
Tony Lloyd16/02/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson16/02/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Marsha Singh16/02/2011Bradford WestLabourSigned
Martin Caton16/02/2011GowerLabourSigned
Naomi Long17/02/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Jonathan Edwards17/02/2011Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Michael Connarty28/02/2011Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd28/02/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Roger Godsiff08/03/2011Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice08/03/2011LivingstonLabourSigned
Jim McGovern09/03/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy16/03/2011GlenrothesLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell17/03/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Crausby30/03/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds31/03/2011Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Stephen Hepburn27/04/2011JarrowLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.