Parliament Website

Park Cake Bakeries And The Agency Workers Directive

EDM number 2179 in 2010-12, proposed by John McDonnell on 14/09/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Employment and Pay.

That this House condemns Park Cake Bakeries and their practice of hiring new staff on contracts at national minimum wage pay levels; notes that the new contract for staff removes the right for sick pay; further notes that staff employed on the new terms will potentially only be entitled to statutory redundancy pay instead of the current level of twice statutory redundancy pay; further notes that the new contracts reduce holidays for staff by 10 days; opposes the removal of a number of existing terms and conditions from staff employed on new contracts; believes that these actions undermine the AgencyWorkers Directive and that this is an attempt to drive down pay and conditions and undermine existing trade union agreements; and supports the Bakers, Food and Allied Workers Union inits campaign to defend the pay and conditions of staff at Park Cake Bakeries.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

John McDonnell14/09/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Jeremy Corbyn14/09/2011Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Alan Meale15/09/2011MansfieldLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins15/09/2011Luton NorthLabourSeconded
David Heyes10/10/2011Ashton-under-LyneLabourSeconded
Michael Meacher10/10/2011Oldham West and RoytonLabourSeconded
Tony Lloyd10/10/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Michael Connarty10/10/2011Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Mike Wood10/10/2011Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Lisa Nandy10/10/2011WiganLabourSigned
Linda Riordan11/10/2011HalifaxLabourSigned
Debbie Abrahams11/10/2011Oldham East and SaddleworthLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi11/10/2011Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Katy Clark11/10/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Martin Caton12/10/2011GowerLabourSigned
Paul Flynn13/10/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Jim McGovern17/10/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
David Crausby18/10/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John Cryer19/10/2011Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Ian Lavery27/10/2011WansbeckLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas09/11/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Grahame Morris23/11/2011EasingtonLabourSigned
Ian Davidson25/01/2012Glasgow South WestLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.