Parliament Website

British-Registered Mining Companies At El Cerrejon In Colombia

EDM number 649 in 2012-13, proposed by John McDonnell on 29/10/2012.
Categorised under the topics of Industry, Latin America and Pollution.

That this House notes that the Cerrejon coal mine continues to have negative impacts on communities in the Colombian department of La Guajira; further notes that the mine is owned by three companies listed on theLondon Stock Exchange, namely Anglo American, BHPBilliton and Xstrata; supports the demands of the federation of communities affected by the mine, FECODEMIGUA; and thereforecalls on the Government to insist that the UK companies involved acceptFECODEMIGUA as a negotiating partner, negotiate compensation and relocation agreements with communities forcibly displaced before the current owners bought into the mine in 2000 as well as with those currently being displaced, take proactive measuresto remedy the grave social, health and environmental damage inflicted upon the inhabitants of the region and undertake not to implement the proposed diversion of the river Rancheria, opposed by FECODEMIGUA as a potential social and ecological disaster.

This motion has been signed by a total of 17 MPs.

John McDonnell29/10/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Mark Durkan29/10/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Alan Meale30/10/2012MansfieldLabourSeconded
Martin Caton30/10/2012GowerLabourSeconded
Margaret Ritchie31/10/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jonathan Edwards31/10/2012Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Ian Lavery01/11/2012WansbeckLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn02/11/2012Islington NorthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell05/11/2012Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Virendra Sharma05/11/2012Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin05/11/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd06/11/2012Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Kelvin Hopkins07/11/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Crausby07/11/2012Bolton North EastLabourSigned
George Galloway07/11/2012Bradford WestRespectSigned
Jim McGovern09/11/2012Dundee WestLabourSigned
Katy Clark04/12/2012North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.