Parliament Website

Working Families

EDM number 827 in 2012-13, proposed by Ann Coffey on 06/12/2012.
Categorised under the topics of Benefits policy, Children and families and Employment.

That this House notes that a couple or lone parent with one child and one earner on the minimum wage will be 542 a year worse off in the year 2013-14 as a result of changes to working tax credit, child tax credit and child benefit introduced in budgets since 2010; believes that the changes that have been introduced are disproportionately hitting working families on the lowest incomes, that this does not make sense economically and is punishing those who wish to work; and calls on the Government to ensure that those who have less do not have to pay disproportionately more of their income to reduce the deficit than those on higher incomes.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Ann Coffey06/12/2012StockportLabourProposed
David Crausby10/12/2012Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan10/12/2012FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Dennis Skinner11/12/2012BolsoverLabourSeconded
William McCrea11/12/2012South AntrimDUPSeconded
Martin Caton11/12/2012GowerLabourSeconded
Yasmin Qureshi11/12/2012Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards11/12/2012Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Dobbin11/12/2012Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
John McDonnell11/12/2012Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jim Shannon11/12/2012StrangfordDUPSigned
Margaret Ritchie12/12/2012South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
George Howarth12/12/2012KnowsleyLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz12/12/2012Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne12/12/2012Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell12/12/2012Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/12/2012Luton NorthLabourSigned
George Galloway13/12/2012Bradford WestRespectSigned
Alan Meale13/12/2012MansfieldLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn17/12/2012JarrowLabourSigned
George Mudie17/12/2012Leeds EastLabourSigned
Mike Gapes17/12/2012Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Grahame Morris17/12/2012EasingtonLabourSigned
Sarah Champion17/12/2012RotherhamLabourSigned
Bill Esterson18/12/2012Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff19/12/2012Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy19/12/2012GlenrothesLabourSigned
Mary Glindon19/12/2012North TynesideLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz19/12/2012Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Frank Doran31/01/2013Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Michael Connarty05/02/2013Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Linda Riordan14/02/2013HalifaxLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.