Parliament Website

Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission

EDM number 76 in 2014-15, proposed by Margaret Ritchie on 11/06/2014.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights and Western Europe.

That this House believes that the Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission, as the National Human Rights Institution for Northern Ireland, plays a vital role in ensuring that Government and public bodies protect the fundamental human rights of everyone in Northern Ireland; acknowledges the role that the Commission has played in promoting understanding and education about human rights so that people know their rights and the protections they are entitled to if these are violated, denied or compromised; pays tribute to the role of the Commission in maintaining peace, promoting progress and building community cohesion in Northern Ireland in the spirit envisioned by the Good Friday Agreement and under UN obligations in post-conflict societies; notes with concern that the Government is cutting the Commission's budget by over 10 per cent for 2015-16 and that this follows a 25 per cent budget cut in the last four years; further notes that these cuts will impair the Commission's capacity to operate successfully and could jeopardise its United Nations A status and with it Northern Ireland's voice at the UN; and calls on the Government to withdraw this cut and provide full and proper funding to the Commission so that it can fulfil its duty to protect and promote the rights of all of the people in Northern Ireland.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Margaret Ritchie11/06/2014South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartyProposed
Mark Durkan11/06/2014FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Alan Meale12/06/2014MansfieldLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin12/06/2014Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins12/06/2014Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Jim McGovern16/06/2014Dundee WestLabourSeconded
Rosie Cooper16/06/2014West LancashireLabourSigned
Martin Caton16/06/2014GowerLabourSigned
Jim Shannon16/06/2014StrangfordDUPSigned
Peter Hain17/06/2014NeathLabourSigned
David Anderson18/06/2014BlaydonLabourSigned
Dai Havard18/06/2014Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Linda Riordan18/06/2014HalifaxLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz18/06/2014Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell18/06/2014Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Sandra Osborne18/06/2014Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock19/06/2014Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Paul Flynn19/06/2014Newport WestLabourSigned
Frank Doran23/06/2014Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz23/06/2014Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma23/06/2014Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff23/06/2014Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Paul Murphy24/06/2014TorfaenLabourSigned
Hywel Francis24/06/2014AberavonLabourSigned
Chris Ruane25/06/2014Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Graeme Morrice25/06/2014LivingstonLabourSigned
Ian Mearns26/06/2014GatesheadLabourSigned
Michael Connarty30/06/2014Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Naomi Long02/07/2014Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Shaun Woodward10/07/2014St Helens South and WhistonLabourSigned
Frank Dobson10/07/2014Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi16/07/2014Bolton South EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.