Parliament Website

Barnet UNISON Care Workers Pay Dispute

EDM number 778 in 2014-15, proposed by John McDonnell on 09/02/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Community care, Industrial relations, Pay and Sickness, disability and carers' benefits.

That this House notes with grave concern the continuation of the long-running industrial dispute between Barnet Council and Your Choice Barnet (YCB), a local authority trading company 100 per cent owned by the London Borough of Barnet, which provides services for adults with disabilities; further notes that this dispute relates to an imposed 9.5 per cent pay cut imposed on low paid care workers on 1 April 2014; further notes that the pay cut imposed on the YCB care workers comes just a year after YCB workers saw over 30 per cent of their colleagues made redundant due to a restructure and all shift allowances were removed; believes there is excessive use of agency and casual staff meaning the regular staff carry an extra workload in familiarising casual staff with the work to be done; and calls on the London Borough of Barnet to enter into serious negotiations with YCB, Barnet UNISON the local trade union, to resolve this dispute constructively and allow YCB to focus once again on its provision of high-quality services for adults with disabilities.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

John McDonnell09/02/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Alan Meale10/02/2015MansfieldLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn10/02/2015Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Liz McInnes10/02/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell11/02/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Virendra Sharma11/02/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery11/02/2015WansbeckLabourSigned
Martin Caton12/02/2015GowerLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner12/02/2015BolsoverLabourSigned
Andrew Love23/02/2015EdmontonLabourSigned
George Howarth23/02/2015KnowsleyLabourSigned
Katy Clark23/02/2015North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins23/02/2015Luton NorthLabourSigned
Peter Hain23/02/2015NeathLabourSigned
Dai Havard24/02/2015Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Graham Stringer24/02/2015Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
David Anderson24/02/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn24/02/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Joe Benton25/02/2015BootleLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff25/02/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Tessa Jowell26/02/2015Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram27/02/2015Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Mike Wood02/03/2015Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Michael Meacher04/03/2015Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Grahame Morris04/03/2015EasingtonLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham05/03/2015WorkingtonLabourSigned
Ann Clwyd05/03/2015Cynon ValleyLabourSigned
George Galloway06/03/2015Bradford WestRespectSigned
Jimmy Hood09/03/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Paul Farrelly09/03/2015Newcastle-under-LymeLabourSigned
John Robertson09/03/2015Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz16/03/2015Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Robert Flello19/03/2015Stoke-on-Trent SouthLabourSigned
Bill Esterson24/03/2015Sefton CentralLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.