Parliament Website

LGBT History Month (No. 2)

EDM number 1037 in 2015-16, proposed by Wes Streeting on 01/02/2016.
Categorised under the topic of Equality.

That this House notes that Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Trans (LGBT) History Month takes place in February and welcomes 2016's theme of Religion, Belief and Philosophy; celebrates the seismic shift in legal equality for LGBT people under successive Labour governments from 1997 to 2010, including the abolition of Section 28, the equalisation of the age of consent, the lifting of the ban on LGBT people serving in the armed forces, the introduction of civil partnerships, the outlawing of discrimination in the provision of goods and services, the introduction of the Gender Recognition Act, the introduction of statutory rights for lesbian couples to access fertility treatment, increased sentencing for homophobic hate crimes and government-led initiatives to tackle homophobic and transphobic bullying in schools; further celebrates the shift in public attitudes towards LGBT equality and the action taken since by successive governments across the UK to further LGBT equality, including the introduction of equal marriage rights; congratulates Sue Sanders, Tony Fenwick and the LGBT History Month team and other LGBT equality charities and pioneers for their ongoing work to improve the life chances and opportunities for LGBT people; further notes that there is still a great deal more work to do to ensure that all LGBT people are treated with dignity and respect; welcomes the groundbreaking report by the Women and Equalities Select Committee on trans equality; and encourages the Government to take further steps to end discrimination and bigotry against LGBT people in the UK and around the world.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Wes Streeting01/02/2016Ilford NorthLabourProposed
Ruth Smeeth01/02/2016Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSeconded
Jess Phillips01/02/2016Birmingham, YardleyLabourSeconded
Gerald Jones01/02/2016Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSeconded
Peter Kyle01/02/2016HoveLabourSeconded
Stephen Twigg01/02/2016Liverpool, West DerbyLabourSeconded
Dawn Butler01/02/2016Signed
Ruth Cadbury01/02/2016Brentford and IsleworthLabourSigned
Alan Meale01/02/2016MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Fitzpatrick02/02/2016Poplar and LimehouseLabourSigned
Joan Ryan02/02/2016Signed
Jonathan Edwards02/02/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Hywel Williams02/02/2016ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Mary Creagh02/02/2016WakefieldLabourSigned
Peter Dowd02/02/2016BootleLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram02/02/2016Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Nick Thomas-Symonds02/02/2016TorfaenLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil02/02/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Gareth Thomas02/02/2016Harrow WestLabourSigned
Helen Hayes02/02/2016Dulwich and West NorwoodLabourSigned
Chris Matheson02/02/2016City of ChesterLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins03/02/2016Luton NorthLabourSigned
Angela Crawley03/02/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Jo Cox03/02/2016Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma03/02/2016Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Margaret Ferrier03/02/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray03/02/2016Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson04/02/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens04/02/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson05/02/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Valerie Vaz08/02/2016Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Steven Paterson08/02/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Hannah Bardell08/02/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Stuart McDonald08/02/2016Cumbernauld, Kilsyth and Kirkintilloch EastScottish National PartySigned
Tristram Hunt09/02/2016Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSigned
Anne McLaughlin10/02/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas10/02/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Stuart Donaldson10/02/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss11/02/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Louise Ellman22/02/2016Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Phil Boswell22/02/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
John McNally22/02/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Michael Dugher23/02/2016Barnsley EastLabourSigned
Bill Esterson24/02/2016Sefton CentralLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.