Parliament Website

Use Of UK Airbases For US Airstrikes In Libya

EDM number 1121 in 2015-16, proposed by Kirsten Oswald on 23/02/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Africa, Defence policy, Military operations and North America.

That this House is disappointed that the Secretary of State for Defence has authorised the US use of UK bases, in particular RAF Lakenheath, for US airstrikes in Libya; notes that such action has not been the subject of debate or a vote in the House of Commons; believes that the House must be given the opportunity to discuss the basis on which this authorisation was given; urges the Secretary of State to explain the legal background to this decision, in particular in relation to any assessment of whether the airstrikes were lawful under UK standards for (i) law on the use of force, (ii) international humanitarian law and (iii) human rights law; is concerned that the House has not been made aware of what further authorisation would be required for any future airstrikes in Libya carried out by the US from UK bases; and further urges the Government to reconsider this policy as a matter of urgency.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

Kirsten Oswald23/02/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartyProposed
Steven Paterson23/02/2016StirlingScottish National PartySeconded
Brendan O'Hara23/02/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySeconded
Martin Docherty23/02/2016West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySeconded
Mark Durkan23/02/2016FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Margaret Ritchie23/02/2016South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Chris Stephens24/02/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan24/02/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day24/02/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jonathan Edwards24/02/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Angela Crawley24/02/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Lisa Cameron24/02/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford24/02/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts24/02/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Angus MacNeil24/02/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black25/02/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows25/02/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law25/02/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock25/02/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Stewart McDonald25/02/2016Glasgow SouthScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh29/02/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson29/02/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson01/03/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan01/03/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry07/03/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson09/03/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas09/03/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Joanna Cherry21/03/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi18/04/2016Bolton South EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.