Parliament Website

Anti-Lobbying Clause In Government Grant Agreements

EDM number 1138 in 2015-16, proposed by Tommy Sheppard on 24/02/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Central government, Charities, Legislative process, Members of Parliament, Parliament and Voluntary organisations.

That this House notes with serious concern proposals by the Government, published on 6 February 2016 on, for a new clause to be inserted into all government grant agreements, determination letters, from the new financial year, and no later than 1 May 2016, which states that payments supporting activity intended to influence or attempt to influence Parliament, government or political parties, or attempting to influence the awarding or renewal of contracts and grants, or attempting to influence legislative or regulatory action will not be counted as Eligible Expenditure costs; further notes that the Government itself describes this as an anti-lobbying clause; shares the concerns expressed by many third sector and voluntary organisations outlined in a letter to the Prime Minister dated 11 February 2016, among them the impact the clause may have on the ability of voluntary organisation to bring real-world experience of service users and evidence-based expertise into the public policy debate, and that those organisations working on programmes receiving any grant funding may be prohibited from speaking to hon. Members about developments in their local area, suggesting improvements to policy or legislation, responding to the Government's own consultations, meeting ministers to discuss broader issues and evidence from their programme or even from giving evidence if called by a select committee, and that the clause may therefore have a far broader impact than originally intended; believes the proposals leave the Government vulnerable to accusations of stifling criticism and informed debate about the consequences of its policies; and calls on the Government to urgently reconsider the introduction of this clause.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Tommy Sheppard24/02/2016Edinburgh EastScottish National PartyProposed
Patrick Grady24/02/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Alasdair McDonnell24/02/2016Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Caroline Lucas24/02/2016Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Jonathan Edwards24/02/2016Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Drew Hendry24/02/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySeconded
Stuart Donaldson24/02/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Anne McLaughlin24/02/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald24/02/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson24/02/2016Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows24/02/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss24/02/2016Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson24/02/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day24/02/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan24/02/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson24/02/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford24/02/2016Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman24/02/2016Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan24/02/2016East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock25/02/2016Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law25/02/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Eilidh Whiteford26/02/2016Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley29/02/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond29/02/2016Signed
Chris Stephens29/02/2016Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil29/02/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
John McNally29/02/2016FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell01/03/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts01/03/2016Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Hannah Bardell01/03/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan01/03/2016InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh01/03/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands01/03/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir01/03/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson01/03/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Mhairi Black02/03/2016Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry03/03/2016Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Fiona Mactaggart04/03/2016SloughLabourSigned
Margaret Ferrier07/03/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford07/03/2016Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson08/03/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff14/03/2016Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Joanna Cherry21/03/2016Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi18/04/2016Bolton South EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.