Parliament Website

Coalyard Project

EDM number 1145 in 2015-16, proposed by Angela Crawley on 24/02/2016.
Categorised under the topics of Community care, Employment schemes and Special educational needs.

That this House congratulates the Larkhall community for its successful campaign to save the Coalyard tearoom and laundry from South Lanarkshire Council's proposed cuts; understands that the Larkhall Community Council collected 5,885 signatures on a petition opposing the decision to cut this worthwhile project; recognises the significance the decision will have on service users' future prospects by protecting their opportunity to learn valuable skills that will assist with employment opportunities; notes the community’s disappointment that the Council had considered the Coalyard project as non-essential; condemns the Council's approach to the budget project and acknowledges the stress and anxiety that was felt by the adults with learning disabilities as a result of the Council’s decision; believes the uncertainty surrounding the project's future was completely avoidable; further recognises that this is a victory for the community against the council; and wishes Coalyard project every success in its future endeavours.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Angela Crawley24/02/2016Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartyProposed
Lisa Cameron24/02/2016East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySeconded
Margaret Ferrier24/02/2016Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySeconded
Stephen Gethins24/02/2016North East FifeScottish National PartySeconded
Brendan O'Hara24/02/2016Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySeconded
Kirsten Oswald24/02/2016East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySeconded
Anne McLaughlin24/02/2016Glasgow North EastScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson24/02/2016Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows24/02/2016Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan24/02/2016Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson24/02/2016West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Steven Paterson24/02/2016StirlingScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law25/02/2016Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day25/02/2016Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady25/02/2016Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil29/02/2016Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Keith Vaz29/02/2016Leicester EastLabourSigned
Owen Thompson01/03/2016MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir01/03/2016AngusScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh01/03/2016Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Jim Shannon01/03/2016StrangfordDUPSigned
Hannah Bardell01/03/2016LivingstonScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell01/03/2016Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry03/03/2016Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
John Nicolson08/03/2016East DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson09/03/2016Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.