Parliament Website

Independent Press Standards Organisation Investigation Into An Article In The Daily Telegraph Regarding First Minister Of Scotland And The French Ambassador

EDM number 229 in 2015-16, proposed by Peter Grant on 30/06/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Freedom of information, Press and Western Europe.

That this House welcomes the investigation by the Independent Press Standards Organisation into the inaccurate Daily Telegraph story published in early April 2015 about the memorandum, leaked with the authority of the then Secretary of State for Scotland, regarding a meeting between Scotland's First Minister and the French Ambassador; looks forward to the conclusion of this inquiry; deplores the spurious reasons given by the Scotland Office for not disclosing under Freedom of Information legislation who in the UK Government this memorandum was sent to and in particular the claims by the Scotland Office that to do so would harm relations between the UK and France and damage the physical and mental health of civil servants; and urges the Scotland Office to be open about which Ministers the memorandum was sent to and stop covering this information up.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Peter Grant30/06/2015GlenrothesScottish National PartyProposed
Stuart Donaldson01/07/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySeconded
Michael Weir01/07/2015AngusScottish National PartySeconded
Lisa Cameron01/07/2015East Kilbride, Strathaven and LesmahagowScottish National PartySeconded
Drew Hendry01/07/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySeconded
Richard Arkless01/07/2015Dumfries and GallowayScottish National PartySeconded
Carol Monaghan01/07/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens02/07/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley02/07/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Patrick Grady02/07/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan02/07/2015East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford02/07/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry02/07/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Kirsty Blackman02/07/2015Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands02/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh02/07/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson06/07/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts06/07/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Keith Vaz06/07/2015Leicester EastLabourSigned
Patricia Gibson06/07/2015North Ayrshire and ArranScottish National PartySigned
Alison Thewliss06/07/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day06/07/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson07/07/2015Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell07/07/2015Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Paul Monaghan07/07/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald07/07/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan07/07/2015InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty07/07/2015West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
John McNally08/07/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Jeremy Corbyn09/07/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Alex Salmond09/07/2015Signed
Chris Law13/07/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Philippa Whitford13/07/2015Central AyrshireScottish National PartySigned
Corri Wilson15/07/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown21/07/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.