Parliament Website

Greece Referendum

EDM number 244 in 2015-16, proposed by Richard Burgon on 06/07/2015.
Categorised under the topics of Economic and monetary union, International politics and government and Western Europe.

That this House congratulates the Greek government on holding the referendum on 5 July 2015 to allow the people of Greece to have their democratic say on new bailout proposals; recognises the majority vote for No to the imposition of further austerity measures which have damaged the economy and caused widespread poverty; further congratulates the Greek people on taking a stand against attacks on living standards of ordinary people; urges the Government to work with the EU Commission, the European Central Bank and the International Monetary Fund to respect the result of the referendum and to return immediately to meaningful negotiations with the Greek government on the terms of the bailout; and believes that an end to austerity measures and a European conference to reach a new agreement for restructuring of Greek debt, including debt cancellation and a grace period without payments, are necessary.

This motion has been signed by a total of 55 MPs.

Richard Burgon06/07/2015Leeds EastLabourProposed
Jeremy Corbyn06/07/2015Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Ian Lavery06/07/2015WansbeckLabourSeconded
Caroline Lucas06/07/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
George Kerevan06/07/2015East LothianScottish National PartySeconded
Margaret Ferrier06/07/2015Rutherglen and Hamilton WestScottish National PartySeconded
Tommy Sheppard06/07/2015Edinburgh EastScottish National PartySigned
Cat Smith06/07/2015Lancaster and FleetwoodLabourSigned
Diane Abbott06/07/2015Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Hywel Williams06/07/2015ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Liz McInnes06/07/2015Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
John McDonnell06/07/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Vicky Foxcroft06/07/2015Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Harry Harpham06/07/2015Sheffield, Brightside and HillsboroughLabourSigned
Chris Stephens06/07/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff06/07/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Clive Lewis06/07/2015Norwich SouthLabourSigned
Kate Osamor06/07/2015EdmontonLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Michael Meacher06/07/2015Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
David Anderson06/07/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Grahame Morris06/07/2015EasingtonLabourSigned
Rachael Maskell06/07/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Carolyn Harris06/07/2015Swansea EastLabourSigned
Paul Monaghan07/07/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySigned
Liz Saville Roberts07/07/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Jonathan Edwards07/07/2015Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Stuart Donaldson07/07/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
Eilidh Whiteford07/07/2015Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Martin Docherty07/07/2015West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma07/07/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Michael Weir07/07/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Phil Boswell07/07/2015Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySigned
Michelle Thomson07/07/2015Edinburgh WestScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day07/07/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Dennis Skinner07/07/2015BolsoverLabourSigned
Louise Haigh07/07/2015Sheffield, HeeleyLabourSigned
Alan Meale07/07/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
Patrick Grady07/07/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySigned
Carol Monaghan08/07/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford08/07/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
John Cryer08/07/2015Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell08/07/2015Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Owen Thompson08/07/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Drew Hendry08/07/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry09/07/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Gavin Newlands09/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySigned
Catherine West09/07/2015Hornsey and Wood GreenLabourSigned
Peter Grant09/07/2015GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Alex Salmond09/07/2015Signed
David Lammy13/07/2015TottenhamLabourSigned
Tasmina Sheikh13/07/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Chris Law13/07/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray16/07/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/07/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Angus MacNeil20/10/2015Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.