Parliament Website

Stat Xplore

EDM number 329 in 2015-16, proposed by Kirsty Blackman on 16/07/2015.
Categorised under the topic of Central government.

That this House condemns the policy of the Department for Work and Pensions of responding to Parliamentary Questions merely by linking to the website of its hard-to-use stat xplore tool, refusing to publish figures or place them in Parliamentary Answers; notes with concern that this practice makes important statistics and figures harder for the public to see, making government less transparent and comprehensible to people; expresses concern about the future readability and integrity of the historical record of the UK Parliament resulting from this practice; further notes that this practice of not calculating statistics is explicitly against the Guide to Parliamentary Work issued by the Office of the Leader of the House, which in paragraphs 7.37 and 7.38 states that Parliamentary Answers should give only urls to a precise datum requested, and not to a larger dataset, that Departments should supply hon. Members and the Library with specific information, and that Ministers in that Department, and others, have refused such specific requests to put information in the Library; expresses concern that, in not calculating statistics, that Department may not accurately track the effect of its policies; notes that stat xplore is hard to use, and little support is available for interested members of the public; and call for the Department for Work and Pensions to aid in governmental openness by publishing requested statistics in full.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

Kirsty Blackman16/07/2015Aberdeen NorthScottish National PartyProposed
Phil Boswell16/07/2015Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillScottish National PartySeconded
Patrick Grady16/07/2015Glasgow NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Carol Monaghan16/07/2015Glasgow North WestScottish National PartySeconded
Gavin Newlands20/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthScottish National PartySeconded
Paul Monaghan20/07/2015Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossScottish National PartySeconded
Chris Law20/07/2015Dundee WestScottish National PartySigned
Chris Stephens20/07/2015Glasgow South WestScottish National PartySigned
John McDonnell20/07/2015Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Corri Wilson20/07/2015Ayr, Carrick and CumnockScottish National PartySigned
Alan Brown20/07/2015Kilmarnock and LoudounScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale20/07/2015MansfieldLabourSigned
John McNally20/07/2015FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Ian Blackford20/07/2015Ross, Skye and LochaberScottish National PartySigned
Jeremy Corbyn20/07/2015Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Docherty20/07/2015West DunbartonshireScottish National PartySigned
Martyn Day20/07/2015Linlithgow and East FalkirkScottish National PartySigned
Natalie McGarry20/07/2015Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Michael Weir21/07/2015AngusScottish National PartySigned
Marion Fellows21/07/2015Motherwell and WishawScottish National PartySigned
David Anderson21/07/2015BlaydonLabourSigned
Alex Salmond21/07/2015Signed
Alison Thewliss21/07/2015Glasgow CentralScottish National PartySigned
Caroline Lucas21/07/2015Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Liz Saville Roberts21/07/2015Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Mhairi Black21/07/2015Paisley and Renfrewshire SouthScottish National PartySigned
Neil Gray21/07/2015Airdrie and ShottsScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma21/07/2015Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Paul Flynn21/07/2015Newport WestLabourSigned
Brendan O'Hara21/07/2015Argyll and ButeScottish National PartySigned
Kirsten Oswald21/07/2015East RenfrewshireScottish National PartySigned
Owen Thompson21/07/2015MidlothianScottish National PartySigned
Joanna Cherry07/09/2015Edinburgh South WestScottish National PartySigned
Roger Godsiff07/09/2015Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Roger Mullin07/09/2015Kirkcaldy and CowdenbeathScottish National PartySigned
Tasmina Sheikh07/09/2015Ochil and South PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Rachael Maskell07/09/2015York CentralLabour/Co-operativeSigned
Drew Hendry07/09/2015Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyScottish National PartySigned
Stuart Donaldson08/09/2015West Aberdeenshire and KincardineScottish National PartySigned
George Kerevan08/09/2015East LothianScottish National PartySigned
Peter Grant08/09/2015GlenrothesScottish National PartySigned
Angela Crawley08/09/2015Lanark and Hamilton EastScottish National PartySigned
Ronnie Cowan08/09/2015InverclydeScottish National PartySigned
Deidre Brock09/09/2015Edinburgh North and LeithScottish National PartySigned
Yasmin Qureshi26/10/2015Bolton South EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.